Not quite singing in the rain

When I was in Rome, I had an opportunity to look round, or rather be shown round.  A friend is spending a year in Rome teaching English and gave me a guided tour.  He is into churches.  I saw lots of churches.  The weather was somewhat inclement, as may be apparent from the picture.  Indeed, there was a virtual cloudbust. It was throwing it down and the queue to get into St Peter’s stretched a long way across the open square!  

The Colosseum is in need of some TLC, but seeing the remains of the place where Caesar was believed to have been stabbed was fascinating.   The great thing about looking round was that everything was basically within walking distance.  Even the university was within walking distance of my hotel (well, just: it took 50 minutes or so).  That’s my kind of city.

About Lord Norton

Professor of Government at Hull University, and Member of the House of Lords
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Not quite singing in the rain

  1. Very interesting, Lord Norton. Do you recall which churches you saw?

    Roman Scribbler.

  2. ladytizzy says:

    But have the Roman buses improved their quaintly rustic seating? My derrière was never quite the same after just one trip.

    For sheer number of churches per square inch, Malta reigns supreme.

  3. maude elwes says:

    I hear one should only go To Rome when it rains. It looks glorious to me……No church on earth compares to those in Rome and St Peter’s, well, just the pictures leave me breathless. Your little jaunt inspires me greatly, i must not leave it longer.

    A day enrapt with the expression of Bernini. I would feel I’d died and gone to heaven.

    Or, more in depth history? I’m awestruck.

    But, once again, watching the Borgias, enthralled by the intense power of Jeremy Irons? Could it be yesterday was more excting than today?

Leave a Reply

