About me – Part 2

I realise I tend to work in Lords of the Blog mode and so haven’t used the opportunity to write much outside of that mode, not least about myself.  I know some bloggers sometimes do posts along the lines of  ‘ten things you didn’t know about me’.  I don’t propose to do even a ‘one thing you didn’t know about me’ on the grounds that if it is something nobody knows about me, there’s probably a good reason for it staying that way. 

I thought I might mention two or three things about me that comply with the usual rules for an answer to a parliamentary question: that is, short, truthful and doesn’t say anything that you could not find from another source anyway.  I have wracked my brain and come up with three things.

1. A fluffy thing: I like animals.  (I like humans as well, but I don’t have the same instinct to pat them on the head or stroke them.)

2. A weird thing: I love the rain.  (No, I really do.  The moment it starts to rain, my instinct is to grab the umbrella and go for a walk.)

3. A political thing: Three years ago, The Daily Telegraph listed me as the 57th most influential person on the right in British politics.  Okay, the next year I wasn’t on the list.  (Anyone noticed how The Daily Telegraph has declined recently?  I know, sad isn’t it?)

I was going to list some of my pet hates (people who are rude to others, motorists who drive in the middle lane of the motorway when there’s no traffic in the left lane, people who clog pavements, people who block escalators by standing on the left – notice a pattern here?) but I realise this would take up far too much space….

About Lord Norton

Professor of Government at Hull University, and Member of the House of Lords
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to About me – Part 2

  1. Dave H says:

    I have found a few good reasons for driving in the middle lane of a motorway instead of the LH one with no other traffic, but they apply in particular cases. In all cases it’s due to the quality of the road surface – if you’ve got deep wheel ruts from HGVs or a badly broken-up surface, then the middle lane is going to be a lot smoother and probably safer. The other instance was a day when it was raining heavily. I’d been in the middle lane and pulled into the LH lane only to discover that there was much more surface water there and the 60 I’d been doing happily in the middle lane translated to under 30 in the LH lane. Again, it was down to the quality of the road surface.

  2. Jonathan says:

    Perhaps your dislikes could be summarised as “inconsiderate people”.

    Unfortunately, people are too quick to say it’s their “right” to do something, without thinking of how it affects others. And I believe this is partly why there is a need for so much extra legislation in recent years.

    I like the example of the law banning fireworks from being let off after 11pm. There will be people who will say it’s yet another assault on their liberties by the government. But the fact is, in the past, no-one would have dreamt of using fireworks late at night because of the disturbance it would cause their neighbours. But these days, in absence of a law, they would say it’s their “right” to do so. The law does not take away any liberties, it’s simply that legislation now has to take the place of consideration for others.

    Of course, the Highway Code already has something to say about middle-lane hoggers.

    • Lord Norton says:

      Jonathan: I think you’ve got it in one. I’m a great believer in responsibilities. I think it is healthy to be considerate. People who simply assert their rights without regards to others strike me as often being rather unpleasant people with no sense of humour.

  3. Carl.H says:

    “I like the example of the law banning fireworks from being let off after 11pm.”

    Bah humbug ! It happened a long time ago too but Police were available to anyone causing a breach of the peace which covers a lot of ground. The law in terms of lawyers has just got cleverer and the human rights crowd who cry the nasty policeman hurt my feelings.

    ” I like animals and I like the rain, I`d love to travel the world and work with children”……Thank you Miss Hull 1963…
    😉

    “People who are rude to others”.

    I think we can all be guilty of that one in a given set of circumstances.

    I think the rest are all your frustration at having to be somewhere to do something important.

    • Lord Norton says:

      Carl.H: “…and work with children”. You must be joking. I prefer cats. They can look after themselves.

      “I think the rest are all your frustration at having to be somewhere to do something important.” Spot on.

  4. Jana says:

    On the three things:

    1. good

    2. sick

    3. nice…

    And re pet hates: mine is people who walk on the wrong side of the pavement – if you drive on the left you walk on the left, and vv.

    • Lord Norton says:

      Jana: Typical rain-ist comment. In terms of walking on the pavement, the traditional etiquette is for gentlemen to walk on the outside of ladies.

      • Carl.H says:

        No, I must keep my sword hand free, she is always to my left……My wallet is on the right 😉

      • The Duke of Waltham says:

        Then try and walk on the left-hand pavement as often as possible, and you’ll have both covered.

Leave a Reply

