Bearskins to bareskins

Yesterday morning, I attended the ceremony of Trooping the Colour on Horse Guards Parade.   It was, as always, an excellent occasion.  The troops, many of whom had recently returned from Afghanistan, executed their movements flawlessly.  The way in which the mounted troops controlled their horses in performing some of the manouevres was truly impressive.  The morning demonstrated just how good we are at ceremonials of this kind. 

I attended with a friend who invited me to afternoon tea at the Lanesborough Hotel, opposite Hyde Park Corner.  Imagine my surprise as I walked along Piccadilly on the way to the hotel to see a large number of naked cyclists going past.  My surprise would have been even greater had I not encountered  them on previous occasions.  For some reason, the international naked cyclists’ ride takes places in London each year on the same day as Trooping the Colour.   I presume they are making some point about naturism (and cycling).  Some tourists seemed so shocked that it took them several seconds to recover and start taking pictures.  Readers may be relieved to know that I didn’t have my camera with me.

About Lord Norton

Professor of Government at Hull University, and Member of the House of Lords
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Bearskins to bareskins

  1. macarthursmutterings says:

    but who put on the better show i wonder, the bearskins or the bareskins?

  2. Lord Norton says:

    macarthurmutterings: Each were outstanding in their own way.

  3. macarthursmutterings says:

    that is such a political answer, but I like it

  4. Lord Norton says:

    macarthurmutterings: I could have said each had their good points.

Leave a Reply

