A lonely meeting

I have variously commented on the growth in the number of all-party groups.  Some are extremely active and some are not.   With it being the start of a new Parliament, established groups are holding their AGMs and proposed new groups are holding inaugural meetings. 

I went to the AGM of one all-party group at lunchtime.   It was being held in a small meeting room in Portcullis House.  When I arrived, there were three MPs in the room.  However, they were just concluding a meeting and left.  I was the only person in the room.   No one else turned up.  Not an auspicious start….

About Lord Norton

Professor of Government at Hull University, and Member of the House of Lords
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A lonely meeting

  1. Dave H says:

    Do we get to know which APPG? And are you sure you went to the correct room? I know that’s the first thing I’d be worrying about if I was the only one to turn up.

    • Lord Norton says:

      Dave H: That was certainly my first thought – wrong day or changed room or wrong time. As soon as I got back to my room, I double checked the information on the all-party whip. I had the right day, venue and time. I may well reveal in due course which APPG was involved – or what may soon be a late APPG!

  2. Croft says:

    Well at least you could stand up in parliament and state truthfully that the APPG meeting was in unanimous agreement with you 🙂

  3. Carl.H says:

    It wasn`t the Lord Norton Appreciation Society was it ?
    🙂

  4. ladytizzy says:

    Were you expecting to see John Hayes or Richard Graham? They have form.

Leave a Reply

