And the winner is…

There were some excellent entries for the most recent Peter Mandelson caption competition, including some late entries from David Rostrum. It has been a difficult choice.  However, there was one that made me laugh most, albeit one that will be readily understood by my recent students and not by anybody else.  That is Paul’s entry:

Lord Mandelson to Dr Wurzel: ‘You didn’t tell me that it was advisable to bake a cake when giving a presentation in a seminar chaired by Lord Norton’.

Given the rather parochial nature of the winning entry, I thought I would award two runner-up prizes:

1. David Rostron for

Lord Mandelson: ‘I prefer informality; when I was at Buckingham Palace I told Her Majesty there’s no need to curtsey ma’am.’

2. Ken Batty for

Lord Mandelson: ‘try not to look too bored – it’s his ‘”I have a dream” speech’.

I think the prizes will have to be slices of one of the cakes baked by a paper giver in one my classes!

About Lord Norton

Professor of Government at Hull University, and Member of the House of Lords
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to And the winner is…

  1. David Rostron says:

    Thank you, that sounds an excellent reward.

  2. Lord Norton says:

    David Rostron: Some of the cakes produced are extremely tasty. Getting a slice of one of them to you may prove the tricky part. Mind you, if a student were to bake a Christmas cake…

    I think what I may do is take a leaf out of the quiz on Lords of the Blog and declare that anyone who wins three of the caption competitions is a grand prize-winner and therefore eligible for a more tangible reward.

  3. David Rostron says:

    That sounds like an interesting challenge and I vote for that.

  4. franksummers3ba says:

    Lord Norton,
    Might we also contend for a title of some kind? It just came to me — how about Quizling?

Leave a Reply

