Forgot again….

My peerage took effect on 1 August 1998 and I was introduced into the House of Lords on 6 October.  You would think I would remember at least one of these each year on the anniversary date and do something special – a celebratory meal or at least a nice (or rather extra) pot of tea.  So far, I think I have a perfect record of letting each date pass without remembering its significance.  I was walking down one of the corridors in the Lords last week and suddenly remembered that the previous week – indeed, the day the House returned – was the anniversary (to the day if not the date) of my introduction.

Perhaps I should make a note in my diary for next year!  Memo to myself: 25 November is the anniversary of my maiden speech.

About Lord Norton

Professor of Government at Hull University, and Member of the House of Lords
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Forgot again….

  1. maldencapell says:

    Lord Norton,

    Could you post a link of your maiden speech?

  2. ladytizzy says:

    Nice one. You can now point to this page to those whose birthdays or anniversaries you have ‘forgotten’.

Leave a Reply

