Forthcoming publications

The British Polity 5/eIn response to an earlier post, djb13 asked me if I would list my forthcoming publications.  As some readers may know (primarily those who do not know me at all well)  I am not one to draw attention to my work.  However, not wishing to disappoint, I list here the articles and chapters to which I referred in my earlier post.  I have already commented on my work on Margaret Thatcher as Leader of the Opposition.  In later posts, I will provide information on, or abstracts of, the other pieces.

‘The Politics of Coalition’, in N. Allen and J. Bartle (eds), Britain at the Polls 2010 (Sage).

‘The Englishness of Westminster’, in A. Aughey and C. Berberich (eds), These Englands (Manchester University Press).

‘A Study in Failure?  Margaret Thatcher as Leader of the Opposition’, in T. Heppell (ed), Leaders of the Opposition from Churchill to Cameron (Palgrave Macmillan)

‘Speaking for the People.  A Conservative Narrative of Democracy’, Policy Studies

‘Introduction: A Century of Change’, Parliamentary History

‘Divided Loyalties: The European Communities Act 1972’, Parliamentary History

The last two are appearing in a special issue of Parliamentary History, which I am editing, on ‘A Century of Constitutional Change’, being published early next year to mark the centenary of the passage of the Parliament Act 1911.

For anyone interested in what has already appeared in 2010, The British Polity, 5th edition (pictured) was published earlier this year, as was Politics UK, 7th edition (co-authored with Bill Jones).  For any French readers, my article, ‘La Nature Du Contrôle Parlementaire’, has just been published in Pouvoirs.

About Lord Norton

Professor of Government at Hull University, and Member of the House of Lords
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Forthcoming publications

  1. djb13 says:

    Thank you :). Although, it’s slightly worrying that when I make requests to peers I get a better response than when I write to MPs…

  2. djb13 says:

    On a side note, I had wondered if you would check up on the email address I post under.

  3. ladytizzy says:

    In September, Baroness Murphy kindly raised the issue of Open Access on LotB: http://lordsoftheblog.net/2010/09/10/open-access-to-research/

    For the sake of this comment, I am assuming your HE was wholly subsidised by the state. Will I be able to request all your publications from my local library (including Pouvoirs)and should I be entitled to read all your publications online?

    Nothing personal, purely illustrative (but I would quite like to read your stuff).

    • Lord Norton says:

      ladytizzy: When I was a student, my BA was funded by the SSRC as was my PhD; my MA was the result of a Thouron Scholarship, so technically not all my HE was funded by the state.

      I am all in favour of enabling as many people as possible to have access to my publications. I shall explore if they can all be available online. I must confess I am presently toying with the idea of collecting some recent publications (articles and chapters) of mine with a view to publishing them in book form.

  4. ladytizzy says:

    “I am all in favour of enabling as many people as possible to have access to my publications.”

    I thought you might be… 😀

    Seriously impressed by the Thouron Scholarship.

Leave a Reply

