Are you actually over 55?

In my quest to save public money, I continue to make use of the Club 55 special offer from Hull Trains, available until the end of this month.  Last week, the conductor went through the standard routine of asking if I had a travel card.  I explained that I was not yet eligible for such a thing.  He then focused on what I said, looked at me intently and said: ‘Are you actually over 55?’  I realise someone else may have not taken kindly to the implication of the question.  My reaction was to smile and feel quite gratified! 

Last night it was a different conductor.  He just looked at me and issued the ticket.

About Lord Norton

Professor of Government at Hull University, and Member of the House of Lords
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Are you actually over 55?

  1. Carl.H says:

    The building site reply:

    Oh Blunkett wasn`t on this week then !

  2. ladytizzy says:

    Club 55 is clearly a problem. A re-branding to Saga City Travel would ensure a trouble-free journey for you.

  3. Carl.H says:

    Trouble with train travel is the reduction in services.

  4. this did make me smile, i can jsut see you beaming at having been asked this

  5. tory boy says:

    As someone who is interested in rail transport like yourself can you explain what class 55 is and why it is being axed.

    • Lord Norton says:

      tory boy: Class 55 was a special deal offered by Hull Trains for a limited period at the end of last year, available to any passenger aged 55 and over. It made for a major saving on the price of the ticket.

Leave a Reply

