The joys of blogging

One of the country’s leading bloggers, Iain Dale, has recently announced that he is giving up blogging.  He is not exceptional.  Many people start blogs but after a time give them up.    They either lose interest and/or find it too time consuming.   I seem to have gone in the other direction.  I became involved in Lords of the Blog when it was established in March 2008 and I started The Norton View last May when Lords of the Blog was out of action because of the general election purdah.   LotB resumed after the election, but I decided to maintain this site and so post on both.   This site allows me to be somewhat more eclectic and personal. 

There are days when I am so busy when I don’t have time to put anything on either site, but generally time is not the issue.  I find the main challenge is thinking of something to say, or at least something I think may be of interest.  However, given the way my mind works, what I think may be of interest to others isn’t, and vice versa.  Sometimes, what I think of as ‘fillers’ excite the most comments. 

I quite enjoy blogging.  It gives me a chance to offer the occasional comment and if that proves of interest to others then it is worthwhile.   As I occasionally point out at meetings, I adopt a politician’s approach: if you see an audience, address it.   It doesn’t have to be a seen audience!

As long as people keep reading (and commenting) I’ll keep blogging…

About Lord Norton

Professor of Government at Hull University, and Member of the House of Lords
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The joys of blogging

  1. Carl.H says:

    My Lord, I think both blogs benefit both sides, the readers and writers. I have certainly gained an education from them and I think it illuminates the House to those in the dark. The commenters are also extremely knowledgable and I gain a good insight from them too butI`d like to see more take part.

    There are many times I think why don`t they post about “that”, I really want to get a comment in but I generally manage to subvert a blog. Most of the time I expect what we really want to speak of concerns the “other place”.

    My Lord does appear diplomatic at times, seeming to shy away from recent contentious issues but then it is easy to cause a stir each and everyday and the underlying issues that appear his Lordships forte, constitution issues, are possibly just if not more important.

    I`ve learnt a lot but have a long way to go, I am grateful of all the time the members put into the blogs- yes even Lord Soley, don`t tell him. With Lords having difficulty communicating with so called commoners in the other place it`s nice to know they do with the real deal. Long may it and you continue.

    • Lord Norton says:

      Carl.H: Many thanks. I believe in playing to my strengths, or at least my areas of interest. I can leave it to others to lower the tone on contentious issues! 🙂 I’m happy to receive suggestions to do posts about “that”. And I promise not to tell Lord Soley.

      I don’t have particular difficulties about talking to commoners, or anybody really. I did one post some time ago about my encounter with Labour baronesses in the Bishop’s Bar when, because of the pressure on seating, I was surrounded by them. ‘I hope you don’t mind talking to Labour Baronesses’, said one. ‘Oh no’, I replied, ‘I’ll talk to anybody’.

  2. djb13 says:

    I think that this is one of the few blogs where people really push partisan issues out of the way, and can have an interesting and intelligent debate. No flame wars, no pressure to defend ‘your side’ and a sense of intellectual respect. That’s why I keep coming back. At risk of sounding like a 1960s sitcom: Carry On… Blogging!

    • Lord Norton says:

      djb13: Many thanks for that. I try not to be too partisan. I am one of those who do let facts get in the way!

      One of the nicest tributes I have received in the Lords is to be told by more than one person that they always read my speeches as they learn something from them. That means more to me than engaging in some transient point-scoring.

      I shall indeed carry on, in a lordly kind of way.

  3. Frank W. Summers III says:

    Lord Norton,

    I wander off from time to time. However, I see your blog in the tradtion of the great tertulias of Spain, salons of France and its imitators, parlor circles and so on. It it not that we are not ambitious and self-promoting here but that we are not merely ambitious and self-promoting. I doubt even your Lordship’s considerable influence will get me elected Tory MP for Ipswich or Shropshire North. Likewise calculation alone would not have caused your Lordship to continue to field my questions and comments for so long. This is that old thing called conversation — with keyboards instead of voices.

    • Lord Norton says:

      Frank W. Summers III: Many thanks. It’s certainly a perspective of the blog that is distinctive. I rather like the comparison. 🙂

      Of course, if you wish to apply to the local association in Ipswich…

  4. ladytizzy says:

    Indeed, Lord Norton, indeed.

    Do you have any predictions for 2011?

Leave a Reply

