Conference in Oxford

Worcester College OxfordI’m spending the day in Westminster, catching up on paperwork before the House resumes next week.  Later today I head off to Worcester College, Oxford (pictured) to attend the annual conference of the Study of Parliament Group.  The group brings together academics with an interest in Parliament (or legislatures more generally) and parliamentary officials.   It is always a stimulating occasion.  This, I think, is my thirty-third year of consecutive attendance. 

I mention this not because I think readers will find the information gripping but simply by way of explanation as to why I may not be doing many posts over the course of the next forty-eight hours…

About Lord Norton

Professor of Government at Hull University, and Member of the House of Lords
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Conference in Oxford

  1. franksummers3ba says:

    Lord Norton,
    You do have a point here. While those of us who read this blog faithfully probably have an interest in what will be said and read at the Oxford sessions, the journey itself is probably still less compelling reading than the description of a car chase or a duel. Perhaps once Your Lordship has attended the conference you can fill us in on some of the topics discussed. I hope you have a successful conference…

  2. djb13 says:

    I’d like to know the series of events that could lead to Lord Norton being involved in a car chase.

    • Lord Norton says:

      djb13: So would Lord Norton.

      • franksummers3ba says:

        Lord Norton,
        Surely, while he is not your direct liege, you would not set yourself above HRH the Prince of Wales and the Ducal Consort of the Principality of Wales. While the chasers were on foot the incident in their car was certainly a compelling narrative of the Hollywood action flick type. Nothing to be wished for, much like blog reading at mass on Christmas Day I suppose…

      • djb13 says:

        I can only imagine a horrendous case of mistaken identity, or a government determined to eliminate it’s critics on constitutional reform. Does anyone know if Nick Clegg has any sort of secret policy force/hit squad at his disposal?

      • djb13 says:

        Again with the spell-checker. Spell-checkers in browser are not a good thing. I shall stop being lazy and just proofread this stuff myself. Obviously I meant ‘police’.

      • franksummers3ba says:

        djb13: I do find the idea of a Liberal Democratic Policy Squad and Hit Team quite fascinating. There must be some spare ireon maidens and racks and the British Museum for persuading those in the CESC to see the light on popular elections of Lords, mustn’t there be?

      • Lord Norton says:

        djb13: The spell-checker presumably doesn’t alert you to superfluous apostrophes either. 🙂

      • djb13 says:

        Curses. I’m always tripped up by “it’s/its”. It’s the one grammatical rule I never internalised. For some reason I also find it impossible to internalise the seven times table; I still have to use a calculator. I wonder if the two are connected?

      • Lord Norton says:

        djb13: You don’t need to internalise it too much, just remember that it’s is a contraction of ‘it is’ . If you don’t mean to say ‘it is’ then it is ‘its’.

      • djb13 says:

        The problem is that I forgot if it’s contraction or possession that doesn’t have an apostrophe.

      • Carl.H says:

        Djb13 if you`re possessing contractions I want first dibs at being your manager. 😉

        PS. Learnt a new word today “adumbrated” I think it means go away you imbecile you`re really annoying me now. 😉

      • Lord Norton says:

        Carl.H: Oh no, I can think of much better words than adumbrate in order to express that view. 🙂 Keep reading the other blog and you may see some of them.

  3. Carl.H says:

    There in black and white you see the typical self employed image: A control freak who thinks 48 hours a lifetime in which everything will fall to pieces without him being in attendance. 😉

    We`ll be fine, honest and we promise to be here when you return. 🙂

Leave a Reply

