Thursday notes

Thursday was even busier than Wednesday.  I didn’t even have the chance to do a pseudo-tweet!  

In between a string of meetings seeing students and others, I met a delegation from the Japanese parliament – they were interested in the House of Lords as well as proposed constitutional change. 

I chaired a meeting of the Campaign for an Effective Second Chamber (we are opposed to an elected second chamber) which was addressed by the Deputy Prime Minister, Nick Clegg (he’s in favour) – it was a rather well-attended meeting! 

I spoke at a meeting of the Bow Group on the Coalition’s approach to constitutional change.  This was followed by dinner – outside the Palace – with the result that I got back to my office at 11.30 p.m.   Mind you, given that we may be sitting into the early hours on Monday, 11.30 may not be deemed that late.  On Monday, camp beds may be the order of the day…

The whole of today – and tomorrow – will be spent as a member of the interview panel for Thouron scholarships.

About Lord Norton

Professor of Government at Hull University, and Member of the House of Lords
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Thursday notes

  1. Chris K says:

    Do you even need sleep, Lord Norton? After a day like that I suspect I’d be knocked out for a week. How Margaret Thatcher survived on 3 hours I do not know.

    Sorry I didn’t reply to your earlier post (about me!). I’ve been busy revising for my first (of many) university exam which I had this morning.

    I very much liked Frank Summers’ suggestion and my friends are surprisingly enthusiastic too. One, who was bought a drink by Lord Winston (who is apparently a part-time member of the Imperial College Symphony Orchestra) earlier this week, is particularly keen to do her bit. When/if the time ever comes.

    • franksummers3ba says:

      Chris K.,
      I do favour fully popularly elected symphonies however. Unfortunate and unfair as that may seem to your friend. But thanks for the kind words.

      • franksummers3ba says:

        The “symphony orchestras” is what I meant. We sometimes call them symphonies too. No more of these musicians thinking they know more of this stuff than the paying audiences whose money they are taking…

    • Lord Norton says:

      Chris K: I do need sleep, somewhat more, I must confess, than Margaret Thatcher allowed herself.

      I hope your friends will be contributing their ideas for what should be on the banners in addition to volunteering to carry them

  2. Carl.H says:

    “Mind you, given that we may be sitting into the early hours on Monday, 11.30 may not be deemed that late.”

    I think the Labour Party should move to have the debate on LoTB, it`s the only forum/blog that is slower than the HoL and we don’t even bother with the civilities. Has it not occured to them that the next move WILL BE to remove the impediment ? Or perhaps that is the plan !

    Dinner “outside the palace” ?

    Tables and chairs now rather than barricades and Police ? Al Fresco Bishop’s Bar ?

  3. djb13 says:

    Camp beds; now it really is reminiscent of a Senate-style filibuster. I am deeply, deeply unimpressed.

Leave a Reply

