Domestic chores

I see researchers from the University of Pittsburgh have found that doing domestic chores can be more stressful than one’s job.   I cannot say I have ever noticed.  I find keeping domestic chores to a minimum usually helps.

About Lord Norton

Professor of Government at Hull University, and Member of the House of Lords
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Domestic chores

  1. Frank W. Summers III says:

    Lord Norton,
    I would think a man such as you seem to be should be able to handle what is left after a minimal staff has done its bit. With a gardener, chaufer, housekeeper, cook, doorman, valet and parlor maid waitress as full-time staff I imagine you can get by with only occasional contract labor. That is not to say that the social secretary, file clerk, web master and research assistant have to go but they are in a different category. When one adds storey maids, assistant gardeners, a butler, a house footman and a pair of guards people at the Uni will possibly say one has put on airs I suppose.

    • Lord Norton says:

      Frank W. Summers III: Those positions are indeed all filled in my household, albeit by the same person. If someone ‘phones and says ‘May I speak to Lord Norton’s secretary?’ I point out that they are already doing so.

  2. ladytizzy says:

    Ah, the Quentin Crisp approach. May I also suggest buying a job lot of Get Well cards, write the usual sentiments in them (being careful to use different pens, and disguise your hand-writing), then dot them about the place. Visitors will then come to their own conclusions to your minimalist approach.

  3. Carl.H says:

    Domestic chores are a necessary evil, if one keeps things relatively clean and tidy, do it as you go, these things don`t build up into stressful processes.

  4. Jonathan says:

    On the contrary, I often find domestic tasks are a good way to relax and forget about work for a while. I also find certain satisfaction in having a clean carpet or sparkling bath at the end of it.

Leave a Reply

