Defining excitement

If I was on Twitter, then my tweets over the weekend could certainly have been kept to 147 characters:

Saturday: marking exam scripts

Sunday: marking essays

Monday: Teaching, marking (more) essays

Off the Westminster tomorrow with a load more essays in tow…

Who says my lifestyle isn’t glamorous?

About Lord Norton

Professor of Government at Hull University, and Member of the House of Lords
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Defining excitement

  1. Frank W. Summers III says:

    Indeed work is so hard to replace…

    • Lord Norton says:

      Frank W. Summers III: There is work and there is work…

      • franksummers3ba says:

        Lord Norton,
        One of my uncles dropped out of the same fairly prestigious American law school (Law is not an undergaduate course here anywhere) which I left twice. I went into tangibles brokering, graduate study in history, research and teaching the first time and general misanthropy the second time. These were rather enjoyable tasks and so I seem to tolerate the break better. He went back after a semester of shoveling manure in the City Park stables where most people knew his father sat on the Supreme Court. He, I think, has expressed to me the thought you have just expressed. I think your distinctions and comforts are well desrved but even on your dingiest day it is a tremendous distance from the ground floor of human labor’s most dismal tediums. I allow that you do the menial things for yourself — but you do them knowing there is more. I have a great talent for unhappiness myself and am sure I could find a way to feel perfectly wretched in your place but frankly I doubt your Lordship is the kind of prodigious natural embodiment of that talent that I am…

      • Lord Norton says:

        Frank W. Summers III: I am very familiar with pre-law students: when I was at the University of Pennsylvania I was taking some courses to which pre-law students were admitted. They were very keen but somewhat oblivious to the harsh realities of what actually happened in courtrooms at the lowest levels. On your point about work, I take your point completely. With me, these things are relative: in effect, different levels of enjoyment.

      • Frank W. Summers III says:

        Lord Norton,
        I figured you might remember that detail. Partly my words were an aside. However, it is impressive how much Americana you retain…

  2. Alice Stretch says:

    It’s 140 characters but to be honest those on twitter elaborate anyway 🙂

Leave a Reply

