There are youngsters and youngsters

Lord Taylor of Holbeach

The minister, Lord Taylor of Holbeach, during Wednesday’s debate on the Public Bodies Bill:

“I thank my noble friend Lord Norton of Louth. He and I have known each other longer, I guess, than any other people in this House. We were youngsters together. Indeed, my noble friend was the William Hague of his day at Conservative Party conferences, but he will probably not thank me very much for revealing that to the House. I thank him for his comments.”

Lord Taylor is seven years older than I am!

About Lord Norton

Professor of Government at Hull University, and Member of the House of Lords
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to There are youngsters and youngsters

  1. Carl.H says:

    There appears an everpresent undertone in this blog that is “age”.

    Is the noble Lord feeling a little mortal ? They tell me a gentlemans suffering as he ages is minute in comparison to that of the female of our species. Indeed your TV appearances have grown in comparison, with age rather unlike apparently that of female presenters.

  2. Lord Norton says:

    Carl.H: When you are fifteen, someone who is twenty-two seems old. Obviously, I take a very different view nowadays.

    • Lord Norton says:

      I should add (well, I don’t have to, but I will) that I think that we have not changed that much over the years. In my case, that probably applies to my views as well as my looks!

Leave a Reply

