Who’s stewie?

At a recent family gathering, a nephew and his wife told me that when they watched Family Guy they always thought of me whenever Stewie appeared.  Hmmm.  I always thought Stewie was Michael Gove.

I should add, for the avoidance of doubt, that the only reason I know what Family Guy is because the programme is on late at night which is the only time I usually get a chance to watch television.  I sometimes see it when I channel  hop after watching Newsnight.  

About Lord Norton

Professor of Government at Hull University, and Member of the House of Lords
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Who’s stewie?

  1. Alice Stretch says:

    Are you trying to hide your embarrassment over watching Family Guy?
    I sometimes get likened to Stewie by people I know in America, completely on the basis that I have an English accent and am “mature for my age”.
    In what sense did they say you are like Stewie? And yes, Michael Gove does bear a resemblance to him…

  2. franksummers3ba says:

    Lord Norton,
    Because the speakers are family we cannot really help wondering what might reinforce their impression of your Lordship’s resemblance to Stewie. Even a single fleeting instance of the following behaviours unknown to us might be sufficient. Has your Lordship ever perhaps:
    1. Applied a washcloth on an airplane to his rear end, while in the main cabin?
    2. Danced in drag with a talking (or imagined to be talking) dog at a dance shool?
    3. Repeatedly pleaded for death in relatively ordinary setbacks?
    Assuming these are not the real causes, perhaps the loquacity, directness, Britishness (which I assume all your family share to some degree) and not overly abundant follicular thatching may constitute the resemblance. However, if any of the three events above have occurred they may well overcome all other reasons.

    • Lord Norton says:

      franksummers3ba: None of the above. I’m assuming it was because of the level of intelligence in one so young.

      • Frank W. Summers III says:

        Lord Norton,
        I must say I prefer that hypothesis despite the fact that our association is so far purely electronic and my own reputation is far from unblemished. Particularly the airplane bit…

Leave a Reply

