Another late sitting

There was another late sitting last night in order to complete committee stage of the Fixed-term Parliaments Bill.  I had some amendments down and spoke to those as well as contributing to discussions on other amendments.  The more we discussed the provisions, the more apparent were the problems associated with trying to codify existing conventions.  Conferring responsibility for certifying what constitutes a vote of no confidence on the Speaker was roundly condemned by two former Speakers, Baroness Boothroyd and Lord Martin.

The House rose at 1.03 a.m.  As I left the chamber, Lord Falconer of Thoroton, who was leading for the Opposition, stopped me to discuss the Bill.  We were then joined by the minister, Lord Wallace of Tankerness.  We had a fruitful discussion, but it meant I did not get away until after 1.30 a.m.  

I was conscious that I had a full programme for today….

About Lord Norton

Professor of Government at Hull University, and Member of the House of Lords
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Another late sitting

  1. Frank W. Summers III says:

    Lord Norton,

    Perhaps when our government shuts down as it may soon do you can have some Members of Congress and our hundreds of thousands of temporarily laid off federal workers over to help you do some of the basic preparations on this bill and others. As of now we can be proud that we are living by patchwork of temporary extensions…

    I believe however that although we cannot draft a budget we can turn Libya into Tuscany with bombs and shells and not getting any boots muddy. In fact I could tell you some other things the Easter Bunny told me…

  2. tory boy says:

    I notice that Earl Onslow is still in a wheel chair is his illness v serious. I also have not seen Baroness Thatcher in the chamber for a while has she been seen around recently?

    • Lord Norton says:

      tory boy: The answers are yes and no. I gather Lord Onslow has been and remains seriously ill. Baroness Thatcher has not been in the House for some time or rather I have not seen her.

Leave a Reply

