That was quick

Biteback Publications show how quickly publishers can publish books: Biteback, for example, published Rob Wilson’s 5 Days to Power and David Laws’ 22 Days in May extremely quickly.  The only downside with such publications is that they lack indexes, though that is possibly a small price to pay for getting the material out as soon as possible.  However, even the more established publishers can publish with some expedition if they set their minds to it.  I mentioned in a recent post that Palgrave Macmillan would be publishing The Cameron-Clegg Government: Coalition Politics in an Age of Austerity, edited by my colleagues Simon Lee and Matt Beech, this month, even though the manuscripts were only delivered earlier this year.   They have now exceeded expectations, with the book being published last week.  It is a substantial volume (291 pages), available in hardback and paperback – and it has an index.

My contribution, as I previously mentioned, is on the coalition’s programme for constitutional reform.

About Lord Norton

Professor of Government at Hull University, and Member of the House of Lords
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to That was quick

  1. macarthursmutterings says:

    And will they be publishing your next book I wonder…. Remind me how many have you had published so far?

  2. Lord Norton says:

    macarthurmutterings: How kind of you to ask. I am now author or editor of 29 books (excluding new editions). Palgrave Macmillan will be publishing the second edition of ‘Parliament in British Politics’, which I am due to complete later this year.

    • franksummers3ba says:

      Lord Norton,
      That is a staggering achievement. When I was in graduate school two of the most prolific scholars at Louisiana State were in my Department of History. With the other one present, one of them (Charles Royster) said something which the other (William James Cooper Jr.) smiled wryly to hear. Probably American humor but I inflict it on you anyway — in a remembered paraphrase:

      “When I was in graduate school we agreed that to write one book was a sign of competence. Two books signified expertise. Three books meant comprehensive insight into the field. Four was a sign of overwheening ambition. Anything over that must surely be an early sign of madness…”

      It makes me smile but clearly is a false assessment. Do you keep track of translations and editions?

      Post Script: Neither list below linked is at all comprehensive but since I doubt they are well known to readers thses are the people I am mentioning:

      http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_ss_i_0_20?url=search-alias%3Dstripbooks&field-keywords=william+j.+cooper+jr&sprefix=william+j.+cooper+jr

      http://www.amazon.com/Charles-Royster/e/B001HCY3T4

      • Lord Norton says:

        franksummers3ba: Many thanks. I was thinking thinking of doing an immodest post (impossible, I know) about translations. I have written articles which have been published in French, German, Portuguese and Japanese; some of my books have been translated into Spanish and one I have just discovered was translated into Persian.

      • Frank-replying-to-PLNBoL-reply says:

        Lord Norton,

        That is wonderful to know. Realisticaly, without detracting from the worth of modern writers it is possible to reach reading communities no living writer could have aspired to see not so long ago…

Leave a Reply

