Listening to Julian Fellowes

Lord Fellowes of West Stafford

The House of Lords this afternoon was debating government policies on disabled people.  Among the speakers was Julian Fellowes, now Lord Fellowes of West Stafford, making his maiden speech.  It was, as you would expect, well delivered as well as in part very funny.  His serious point, though, was that his early experiences in life made him realise that you judge people by who they are and not what they are, and there are dangers in trying to generalise about particular groups of people.  

It was the sort of debate that reflected the knowledge and experience of members of the House.  It was initiated by Lord Low of Dalston, who is blind.  There were four baronesses lined up in wheelchairs behind the Clerks.  All four spoke, including paralympian Baroness Grey-Thompson.  Baroness Campbell of Surbiton is usually unable to complete all of her speech, so part is spoken, as it was today, by Baroness Wilkins.  In effect, they took it in turns.  Baroness Wilkins made her own speech later.   Lord Fellowes was followed by fellow thespian, Lord Rix, also known for his tireless work on behalf of Mencap. 

It reflected the real value of the House of Lords.

About Lord Norton

Professor of Government at Hull University, and Member of the House of Lords
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Listening to Julian Fellowes

  1. ladytizzy says:

    Lord Rix is a particular hero of mine and I am fortunate to have seen him several times with his trousers down. (That should make Frank look him up, don’t you think?) Lord Fellowes seems equally delightful, very much to the manner born!

    PS Having done my duty I understand that a local school was closed for the day and received six voters by the time it would have normally closed (we have no council elections here).

    • Frank W. Summers III says:

      Lady Tizzy,

      It might be more likely to make me look you up. Though with “t. down” and “t. off are not the same visual in our dialect and I am unsure of yours in this matter…
      Of course if you are a tailor, nurse, massage therapist or some other boring explanation then I am once again wasting my time in this hopeless campaign. In fact I am not sure what the campaign is — so it must be hopeless.

      • ladytizzy says:

        “…tailor, nurse, massage therapist…”

        I ticked those off before moving out of my teens. Does this help?

  2. Lord Norton says:

    ladytizzy: “(That should make Frank look him up, don’t you think?)” Well, yes, in a manner of speaking.

    I suspect your experience of the turnout in places where there are no council elections may not be untypical.

  3. Frank W. Summers III says:

    Lady Tizzy,

    Youhave added something to the picture, that along with your 2009 link relating to missing teaspoons is very revealing. I also remember you asserting that you ha a cupp with the Queen of Tonga. I see that you have a correspondent in Australia. You questioned my use of digits after my name. I found something somewhwere that made me think you sere related to an Anglican bishop. You obviously are interested in the HoL and maybe the Lords Spiritual. Lady Tizzy is a handle used by several artists and sometime to describe Ashley Tisdale — an American actress you may or may not know. The other commenters and Lord Norton all seem to think that you are a bit naughty.

    Other than political opinion this is the sum and totality of my universe of fact and fiction about you. Unless you are also the owner of a dog who wears straw hats. If this kept up long enough I might form a profile. But I am not anywhere near one yet. Does it help?

    All things are relative. Some are more relative than others. I am persuaded that you are in fact female and that you vote in England. It seems you find a great deal of folly in your fellow humans but try to be benign in your relations with them.

    Of course if you are in fact Fidel Castro what can I say? You have built up quite the persona.

    • ladytizzy says:

      Frank, I am so, so glad that you decided to continue commenting here.

      • Frank W. Summers III says:

        Lady Tizzy,

        It has continued to the present time. I think we will all survive if it ceases. However, I do not want to make Lord R. or anyone else excessively jealous and so will limit the personal banter to — Thank you for your kind words…

        I am easy to know on line. Whole pages of publig blog just about me. Largely that is for those days when I awaken not remebering who I am, but also for the casual observer.

Leave a Reply

