Catching up

After a recess, other peers often ask how I spent it.  Mostly, the answer is ‘marking’.   No sooner has essay marking been completed than it is time to get on with exam scripts.  I am surrounded by them at the moment.  However, I have at least been able to carve out some time to get on with writing commitments. 

Over the weekend, I completed a chapter on cohesion for a book on the coalition.  This derives from the paper I gave at Leeds University in April.  Though it is titled ‘Coalition Cohesion’, it focuses on what has been unprecedented dissent in the division lobbies in the first session of a Parliament.  I also managed to complete a chapter, on constitutional change and the decline of the welfare state, for a book being published to mark the 50th anniversary of the Hull Politics Department.  I also managed to pen a short article for Politics Review on constitutional change and the coalition.

I hope to complete the marking shortly in order to allow me to get on with my lecture on Enoch Powell, which I am delivering later this month as part of the series of Speaker’s Lectures on eminent parliamentarians.  I spent this morning invigilating an exam (the academic equivalent of watching paint dry), so at least was able to sit and mentally draft additions.   It’s coming along, but doing justice to Powell’s career in a one-hour lecture is quite a challenge.

About Lord Norton

Professor of Government at Hull University, and Member of the House of Lords
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Catching up

  1. David says:

    There can be no doubt that Powell was an epic parliamentarian and his ‘ Lexicon to Herodotus’ is a fantastic work. However, do you not agree that Powell was preposterous in claiming that the true author of the works of Shakespeare was the Earl of Oxford?

  2. Lord Norton says:

    David: Thanks for that. I shall be mentioning his ‘Lexicon to Herodotus’. His claim about Shakespeare is something I may touch upon: he had some rather exotic and at times outlandish ideas.

  3. Frank W. Summers III says:

    Lord Norton & David,

    I imagine you are all aware of this but:
    http://www.anonymous-movie.com/

  4. The Duke of Waltham says:

    There is a good treatment of the subject
    on Wikipedia.

  5. Lord Norton says:

    Yes, it was because it was back in the news that I thought I may mention it.

Leave a Reply

