Powell lecture (again)

Enoch Powell

This post is essentially for Frank W. Summers III and any other overseas reader who may have encountered difficulties accessing my Speaker’s lecture on Enoch Powell.  As previously mentioned, it is available on the Democracy Live website here.  Although it has not proved technically possible to embed it on this blog, I am pleased to report that it can be viewed now in the ‘News and Events’ section of Hull University Politics Department website here (just scroll down the page).  The page also has information likely to be of interest to Hull politics graduates.

About Lord Norton

Professor of Government at Hull University, and Member of the House of Lords
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Powell lecture (again)

  1. Frank W. Summers III says:

    Lord Norton,

    I hope I can reciprocate this favor some day. I will likely comment again once I have heard it — starting soon.

    • Frank W. Summers III says:

      Lord Norton,
      The evil internet faeries had me obliged to watch to the first forty minutes on the DL site and the remainder on the Hull site. I think that the lecture was quite a jewel. I kne very little of this person and his life certainly adds light to those aspects of modern history which I have studied in which he played a significant remark. I value the biographical sketch and certainly enjoyed this one….

      He certainly cuts a figure which excites admiration. To have excelled at three vocations, to be learned and to follow an ideal surely is a noble heritage.

      It is a sad but understandable reality that racism is broadened into a term to cover so many other points of view. There are many issues covered under that cloaking term which many societies must address. I am fairly sure that I am not racist, colour blind, a believer in the goddness of a global village, a hate-monger nor naively sure of a human common feeling in all matters. You did a nice job of parsing out this life and work in its own terms and not the oversimplified terms too often used…

      • Lord Norton says:

        Frank W. Summers III: I’m very pleased that you were able to listen to the lecture and equally pleased that it proved of interest. Your comments are appreciated.

  2. G R Steele says:

    Is there a tracscript posted anywhere|?

    • Lord Norton says:

      G. R. Steele: The intention is that the lectures in the series will be published in book form, though I have not yet heard details of the publishing arrangements. There will be eleven lectures in total: four are still to be delivered.

      Anyone interested in having a paper copy can contact me directly.

Leave a Reply

