Thursday is the new Wednesday

Wednesday is usually my busiest day at Westminster but this week it was Thursday.

The day started with a meeting of the Campaign for an Effective Second Chamber (we oppose an elected House but favour reform within the House in order to strengthen it); there is a good turnout of peers and MPs. 

I head straight from the meeting to Broadway House in Tothill Street where I am speaking to a seminar, comprising staff from overseas parliaments, on comparing legislatures and establishing the means for assessing their efficacy.   I am just concluding answering questions when I get a text message saying there is a division.  I dash back to the House, but just miss it.  Memo to self: at my age, don’t run.

I have a lunchtime meeting of the Lord Speaker’s Advisory Group on Outreach.  We meet with the Director-General of the BBC, Mark Thompson.   This is the last meeting of the group to be chaired by Baroness Hayman as Lord Speaker.

I am in the chamber for some of the debate on amendments to the Police Reform and Social Responsibility Bill.  As I remain in the precincts for the rest of the day, I am able to vote in the remaining three divisions.

I have a meeting wearing my hat as editor of The Journal of Legislative StudiesMy editorial assistant and I meet with the publishers.  The journal is in a very healthy state.  I go from this to my evening engagement: the summer dinner of the Study of Parliament Group, held in the Speaker’s State Apartments.  (The dinner is in the room where I delivered the Speaker’s Lecture on Enoch Powell.)  The guest speaker is the President of the Supreme Court, Lord Phillips of Worth Matravers.  At dinner, I am seated next to the Clerk of the Parliaments, David Beamish.  We have plenty to chat about.

About Lord Norton

Professor of Government at Hull University, and Member of the House of Lords
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Thursday is the new Wednesday

  1. ladytizzy says:

    Did your chat with Mr Beamish have anything to do with what happens when the last man standing is Mr Clegg?

  2. macarthursmutterings says:

    What do you mean… “at my age don’t run”, strapping young lad like you…

Leave a Reply

