Winning awards

The award winning...

The winner of the caption competition, Sheldon Howcroft, mentions in response to his win that he hasn’t won many awards recently.  I know the feeling.  For many years, the only award I won was in the 1980s when the then Hull Free Press awarded me the title of ‘Self-Publicist of the Year’. 
 
As I understood to be the tradition when one won an award, I immediately issued a statement thanking all those who had made it possible. 
About Lord Norton

Professor of Government at Hull University, and Member of the House of Lords
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Winning awards

    • Lord Norton says:

      ladytizzy: You are ahead of me. I was thinking of adding that some readers will already be aware of this fact, mainly so I could explain that I wasn’t having a senior moment.

  1. Frank W. Summers III says:

    Lord Norton,

    I presume that self-publicizing is not necessarily a vice:

    And the list goes on much longer. However, I justify my self-publicizing in the fact that I have had good reasons for not being engaged in regular public relations, there seems to have been a long steady interest in certain topics and some few thousnads who follow them even if they do not view things directly online all the time…

    Now as a Peer and on the government side you need not struggle over issues of relevance as perhaps you once did… None of us are given surety of a more illustrious future but cycles do exist in the measure of celebrity…

    • Lord Norton says:

      Frank W. Summers III: My justification for self-publicity is the same as if I recount some calaminty that has befallen me – if there’s something funny about it, I’ll recount it.

      • Frank W. Summers III says:

        Lord Norton,
        The two great assets in this endeavor are surely sincerity and self-deprecating humour. If one can master faking the former and is superior enough to perfect the delivery of the latter then one will surely succeed in the enterprise….

  2. ladytizzy says:

    …which reminded me, in an off topic sort of way, under the “Copyright and restrictions” section of the Freedom of Information (FOI) stuff the gvt staff write:

    “If you plan to reproduce the information you receive, make sure you check the copyright status of it first.”
    http://www.direct.gov.uk/en/governmentcitizensandrights/yourrightsandresponsibilities/dg_4003239

    Do I take it that, regardless of the FOI question and answer, there is no formal recording of such instances and that similar questions may be handled similarly? if so, are we in danger of being sent round in circles, like lab rats?

    • Lord Norton says:

      ladytizzy: I would regard it as a fairly standard and necessary reminder, though I suspect a great deal of the information that is released is not subject to copyright restrictions. Even where copyright is involved, getting permission from the copyright holder may not be that difficult. Usually, the main requirement is to acknowledge who holds the copyright. Or am I missing something?

      • ladytizzy says:

        Apologies! I abruptly shoved two distinct questions into one unintelligible mess, not for the first/last time. I’ll have another go:

        1. Does a FOI reply (one way or another) automatically appear in a public arena?
        2. Is it possible that a FOI reply is in itself subject to copyright?

        A glimpse into my train of thought: once I had seen the memo, as above, I couldn’t think of a FOI reply that would be subject to copyright. Upon reading the memo again, the first bit, “If you plan to reproduce the information you receive…” suggested that information wouldn’t necessarily be made available to all and sundry. An initial search for FOI questions/replies came to nothing; if lists exist, where are they?. This led me to wonder how many times a particular question had been asked at £10 a pop. Further, If a question has a positive outcome then the information should be freely [sic] available and the copyright issue should be addressed at (gvt) source, a point that clearly crossed your mind too.

  3. ladytizzy says:

    Yet another aside: LotB are currently showing a Twitter tag RT @UKParlEducation: Ever wanted to make the rules? MyUK puts you in charge of Britain. Preview it at http://www.createmyuk.org .

    My first ever comment on the webosphere was put to WebCameron, asking fellow commenters to be part of a virtual Cabinet. Those innocent days…

    • Frank W. Summers III says:

      Lady Tizzy,

      I saw the My UK video on You Tube. It seems to be pretty good and sophisticated computer game which will attract at least some young people who have not thought much about politics and would not otherwise…

Leave a Reply

