A real award

Parliament resumed sitting yesterday.  I missed the sitting because I was in Lincoln receiving an honorary doctorate in law from the University of Lincoln.  It was quite a splendid ceremony, held in Lincoln Cathedral, followed by a reception in the grounds of the Castle.   In my speech, I emphasised that I was particularly honoured by the degree because it was awarded by the university of my home county and also because, given that I operate at the interface of law and politics (especially in writing about the constitution), it complemented my existing qualifications which are all in political science.   It also provided me with the opportunity to stress the need for students of law to understand the process by which law is made and for students of politics to know how law is interpreted and applied. 

There were photographs taken prior to the ceremony and, such is modern technology, I was presented with copies at the reception.  I’ll be posting one shortly.  When I mentioned to a friend that I would be receiving the award, he asked if that meant there would be photographs.  When I confirmed there would be, he said ‘I suppose that takes care of your Christmas cards then?’  (When I got my peerage, I used the picture of me in my robes to adorn my Christmas cards that year.)   I had not given any thought to such a possibility, but now I think about it….

About Lord Norton

Professor of Government at Hull University, and Member of the House of Lords
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A real award

  1. Frank W. Summers III says:

    Lord Norton,

    I would presume (possibly incorrectly) that you are to some degree green with this new honour. I on the other hand am only green with envy.

    • Lord Norton says:

      Frank W. Summers III: My Sheffield PhD gown is trimmed with green, but the Lincoln doctoral gown is trimmed with blue. The robe itself (like my Sheffield robe) is red.

      • Frank W. Summers III says:

        Lord Norton,

        Though saved somewhat by your full disclosure I am victim of a hasty assumption (curable with a websearch). That has happened before. Lincon green has the worldwide fame but I have seen blue before in Lincoln related heraldy and insignia.

        Congratulations on your fine honour. I believe you are in many ways an exemplar of legal sensibility…

  2. ladytizzy says:

    Completely o/t:

    Listening to the Commons debate on the Health & Social care Bill I noted, not for the first time, a plea to those in ‘another place’. In this case Lib Dem MP, Martin Horwood, “…should any noble friends be listening from the gallery, that they might take up the theme of Public Health in another place…”

    His eyes shifted towards the gallery several times – who had he seen? And does she support the House of Lords reform draft Bill?

    • Lord Norton says:

      ladytizzy: It is far from unknown for MPs to look to us to do that which they do not quite have the courage to do themselves. Let’s just say that not all those Members who get what they want in this way necessarily follow through by showing their recognition of the value of the House.

  3. macarthursmutterings says:

    Congratulations of the award and what a nice setting in which to receive it, I’m sure you shone like the star you are even in such a grand place 😉

    PS I want one of those Christmas cards

Leave a Reply

