Lull before the storm

Westminster is proving to be notably quiet in the period between the September sitting and the two Houses resuming next month.  The atrium in Portcullis House is less busy than during the main summer recess.  In part, this may be because Members and a fair number of staff are either at or planning to attend their party conference.   I have seen more peers in Westminster today than I have MPs, though the largest group I have seen has been of Hull students. 

In many respects it is the lull before the storm.  The House of Lords resumes sitting next Monday (3 October) and the House of Commons returns on 10 October.   It is then going to be hectic, with no respite until Christmas.  In the first half of the year, there are various breaks – the February half-term, Easter, and the Whit recess, but in the autumn there is no let-up.  The pressure of business, and some tensions between the parties, means that tempers may get a little frayed at times.  The Christmas recess will probably already be looking attractive before even November is upon us….

About Lord Norton

Professor of Government at Hull University, and Member of the House of Lords
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Lull before the storm

  1. tory boy says:

    I got the same feeling when I saw you in the atrium!

  2. Lord Norton says:

    I’m the lull before the storm?

  3. tory boy says:

    No! That it was quiet, however it may be due to restaurant in the atrium having maintenance work!
    However I think there may be a storm brewing in the Lords the usual channels falling out and the health and social care bill about to start its passage. “Tin Hats on boys”!!

  4. Frank W. Summers III says:

    Lord Norton,
    How many weekends have you ommitted the quiz on the LOTB since its inception I wonder? Perhaps further evidence of the mood is found there….

    • Lord Norton says:

      Frank W. Summers III: I post a quiz every other week. I don’t think I have missed a turn. (I hope.)

      • Frank W. Summers III says:

        Lord Norton,

        I am really distracted to have forgotten that. I only checked in once in a while for a while and thuis there would be a new quiz each time but I should have remembered that. Is there to be no State Opening until Novemeber 2012 or is that undetermined or not at all the case?

  5. Frank W. Summers III says:

    Lord Norton,

    If you have little bit of relatively free time I think there may be one social network which has some limited appeal to your Lordship. While I am a fan of Facebook and use Twitter it is hard to say they really add more than they interfere for someone with the infrastructure of Lords, the University system at Hull and The Norton View. I think Linked-in may be worth trying it is a sort of system which rewards more than equalizes some of your strengths and does not grow so easily in its expectations. I don’t really expect to see you on it any time soon but perhaps a visit would be worthwhile…

Leave a Reply

