Returning to Switzerland

Swiss Parliament

As regular readers of Lords of the Blog will know, I was in Bern three years ago to take part in a conference to advise on the creation of a second chamber in the Iraq parliament.  I am returning to Bern this week, this time to address a conference on capacity building in parliaments.   One benefit of having been before is that I am fairly familiar with the journey – perhaps needless to say, I am going by train.  One of the advantages of travelling this way is that it gives me plenty of uninterrupted time to get on with reading and paperwork.  I want to get on with my research on the passage of the Parliament Act 1911 for my History of Parliament lecture.  I already have the lecture drafted, but I want to ensure that it is a fully researched as possible.

About Lord Norton

Professor of Government at Hull University, and Member of the House of Lords
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Returning to Switzerland

  1. Frank W. Summers III says:

    Lord Norton,

    I once commented (or more than once ) a number of years back on LOTB that I believed a second chamber in Iraq was important for many reasons and its absence telling for others. i am pleased to have you going to work on this project. While I might wish you could be at the side of the late Senator Robert Byrd on the American side I can think of no one the British side nor any living person on the American side of the alliance better suited to the task… It often happens that delayscoinicde with the death of uniquely qualified people. I view this as so true that the world would be quite different without this phenomenon.

Leave a Reply

