Parliament Act lecture on iPlayer

The History of Parliament annual lecture, which I delivered on Tuesday, on ‘Resisting the Inevitable? The Parliament Act 1911’, was broadcast on BBC Parliament on Saturday evening at 6.00 p.m. and again at 10.00 p.m.   For anyone who missed it and would like to see it, it is presently available on BBC iPlayer here.

About Lord Norton

Professor of Government at Hull University, and Member of the House of Lords
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Parliament Act lecture on iPlayer

  1. Edward Brunsdon says:

    Really enjoyed it – thanks vm indeed !

    Just a question (hopefully not a silly one), you pointed out that Bonar-Law and some of the hedgers realised that post 1911 that the HoL might still effectively still be able force an election by refusing to renew the annual Army Act.
    Is this is still the case? Could your Lordships force an early election (in theory).

    • Lord Norton says:

      Edward Brunsdon: Many thanks. I’m very pleased that you enjoyed it.

      On your query, there are two developments since 1911 that are pertinent. There is no longer an annual Army Act. Instead, there is a quinquennial Armed Forces Act. There is also now the Fixed-term Parliaments Act 2011. The Lords could not force an early election unless the House of Commons voted for one (or passed a vote of no confidence in the Government).

  2. Frank W. Summers III says:

    Lord Norton,
    “Currently BBC iPlayer TV programmes are available to play in the UK only, but all BBC iPlayer Radio programmes are available to you. Why?
    If you are in the UK and see this message please read this advice.
    Go to the BBC iPlayer Radio homepage”
    This sums up my own impression rather concisely for now.

    • Lord Norton says:

      Frank W. Summers III: I have no idea why there is that difference between TV and radio. Presumably, if my lecture had also been broadcast on the radio, you would have been able to hear it.

      • Frank W. Summers III says:

        Lord Norton,
        When I taught in China I was privileged to have good private office, albeit located in my on campus home. I had a problem with the computer and discovere only characters presented themselves when I accessed the operating system. The computer like most of my electronics was a Chinese product. I found the time and got a Chinese friend to come and translate for me. However it was in Korean which neither she nor I could read. One could select one of five languages including English and Mandarin. However, mine had been set in Korean and was stuck there. Together we got good service out of it anyway but never fixed the language selection. My point is one either developes a sense of humour having lived my life or is dead by my age…

Leave a Reply

