More from the silver jubilee

I thought I would share with you another photograph from the reception to mark my 25 years as professor of government at the University of Hull.  This picture shows the speaking line-up (from left to right): Baroness Bottomley, who acted as MC; Cliff Grantham, speaking for graduates; Lord Cormack, who spoke for parliamentarians; and me, responding and addressing changes in Parliament over the past quarter century.  The speeches were well received, not least I suspect because they were brief.

Cliff Grantham has spoken at each of the celebrations – that to mark the appointment, and those to mark ten and then twenty years.   As I recounted at this reception, I can still remember his opening words 25 years ago: ‘I am going to speak about Philip the person.  We all know about his academic achievements.  Philip has seen to that.’  After 25 years, I’m still trying to work out what he meant.

About Lord Norton

Professor of Government at Hull University, and Member of the House of Lords
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to More from the silver jubilee

  1. Frank W. Summers III says:

    Lord Norton,
    Perhaps that in an informed audience you achievements spoke for themselves….

  2. Paul n says:

    Good to see Lord Cormack there, a wonderful parliamentarian, always enjoy listening to him speak. Although I have never met him, he seems as though he a true gentleman, someone who does their public duty without expecting any reward.

    On a sperate issue Lord Norton, do you know if your Parliament Act lecture has been published online yet? Being in the US, I cannot access BBC iplayer. I did read Speaker Bercow’s lecture from November 3rd at the Guildhall, but would very much like to read your lecture to the History of Parliament group!

    Many thanks.

    • Lord Norton says:

      Paul n: Many thanks. On your query, I am familiar with the problem of BBC iPlayer not being available to an overseas audience (though it is now no longer available to the UK audience either, the time it is available having expired). The lecture is likely to be published in ‘Parliamentary History’. I am exploring if it can be put online in the interim. Failing that, what I may do is offer to make available a paper or electronic copy to anyone who is especially keen to get hold of a copy.

  3. ladytizzy says:

    Are we talking about the Parliamentary History journal published by Wiley-Blackwells? As far as I can see, articles are not generally free to view.

    In which case, good job you have a photocopier…(that seems so long ago).

Leave a Reply

