Committee work

Anyone interested in following my parliamentary activity may be disappointed if they seek to do so through the website TheyWorkForYou.com

Since the summer recess, most of my work has been committee based.   On Mondays, I have the Joint Committee on the Draft House of Lords Reform Bill – we tend to have marathon three-hour sessions; on Tuesdays, the Merits of Statutory Instruments Committee; and on Wednesdays, the Constitution Committee.  As regular readers will know, we are in the middle of an inquiry into the process of judicial appointments.  

Though I have a perfect or near-perfect attendance record – I missed one meeting of the Constitution Committee because of my trip to speak at the conference in Bern – none of this is recorded on the website.  Because of the timing of meetings of the Joint Committee, I had to rearrange my teaching schedule which has meant I am in Hull on Thursdays, meaning I am not able to speak in general debates that day (and indeed not able to follow my normal practice of seeking to initiate a debate).   I will be speaking early next month in a debate on the Constitution Committee’s report on the process of constitutional change.  That debate, though, will be taking place in Grand Committee – which also doesn’t get recorded on the website!

About Lord Norton

Professor of Government at Hull University, and Member of the House of Lords
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Committee work

  1. ladytizzy says:

    I thought you may be interested in knowing that your next post on LotB will be number 666. Apparently.

    • Frank W. Summers III says:

      Lady Tizzy,
      What will Lord Norton need to post to lessen the growing suspicions of some that he may well be the Beast of Revelations? In the United States our Congressional Supercommittee has shown itself innocent of all preternatural political power by doing absolutely nothing after having hug legislative trust for several months and leaving the budget unaddressed. Perhaps a post with similar lack of production of any kind would be exonerating.

      In China, which land holds several persons dear to me and where I found much good and joy in my own life, many feared symbols abound. One knows that the dragon (like Wales but more so) is a powerful and nearly ubiquitous symbol, bats are indeed symbols of happiness rather than vampirism and the number 666 with which John the Divine feared we would all be stamped for trade and commerce is the most propitious number for trade and commerce. I will have to see if Lord Norton shows other signs. You know him personaly I think and so perhaps can keep me informed about supernatural manifestations — I will not jump to conclusions. I just want the facts…

    • Lord Norton says:

      ladytizzy: That’s also the number of peers remaining in the House of Lords following the passage of the 1999 House of Lords Act.

  2. maude elwes says:

    @Lord Norton:
    I am sure you are aware, but, for clarity ‘666’ is a bad omen! Therefore best if that isn’t the fill of the Lords.

    http://lamblion.com/articles/articles_revelation14.php

  3. Paul says:

    Although there are clearly shortcomings in theyworkforyou not being able to register all activity that an MP or Peer undertakes, I do consider it a success. It is often quicker than using the PIMS system to find items of interest too.

    I also find whatdotheyknow a particularly useful site for freedom of information requests, although I prefer to submit my own requests away from the public gaze so i can choose what to do with the information.

    • Lord Norton says:

      Paul: I don’t disagree. My point was that it may be as good as far as it goes, which is a major improvement on what went before, but that there is more that could be done, especially in order to give a more rounded picture. As it stands, it tends to skew Members’ activity in favour of activity that gets measured on the site.

Leave a Reply

