Happy New Year

Looking forward to 2012

Happy New Year to readers. 

I have been very impressed by the fact that there were visitors to the site every day throughout Christmas.   As I have said before, clearly a quality readership.  The site has had almost 100,000 hits since it began during the 2010 election campaign.  During 2011, the posts that attracted the most visitors were Still sitting, Conservative leaders are not elected by a form of AV, Referendums, referenda, the English Question and the Royal succession.   The post on election of the Conservative leader attracted a lot of hits during the AV referendum.  The post on whether to refer to referendums or referenda continues to attract readers.  So too do the posts I have done on what happens if a PM dies in office.

I hope to maintain the pace of blogging in 2012.  Posts have been infrequent over Christmas, primarily because the past two weeks have been spent marking scripts.  Christmas in my household is traditionally the season for marking.   It doesn’t lend itself to much by way of blogging.  Indeed, it’s not exactly a conversation piece when the House of Lords resumes.  ‘What did you do at Christmas?  Go anywhere interesting?’  ‘I spent it at home marking scripts’.  ‘Oh, how, er, yes, well…’. 

The good news (for me) is that I managed to complete the bulk of the marking just before 2011 ended (I mean that literally – there were just minutes to spare), meaning I can begin 2012 with some serious research and writing.  Life in the fast lane, or what?

About Lord Norton

Professor of Government at Hull University, and Member of the House of Lords
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Happy New Year

  1. azoic1 says:

    My i wish you a happy new year .
    This will be hard to follow this year, has last year for your self. was far in it self a full year.
    I don’t no how you fit every thing in one year, but you do .
    Keep moving forward …

    • Lord Norton says:

      azoic1: Happy New Year. I don’t know how I fit things in either. If I thought about it, I am sure I would realise I don’t have the time. So I don’t think about it!

  2. maude elwes says:

    I thought you may like this little thought, I read it on the move. It somehow caught my inner self.

    ‘I will seek elegance rather than luxury, refinement rather than fashion. I will seek to be worthy rather than respectable, wealthy and not rich. . I will study hard, think quietly, talk gently, act frankly. I will listen to stars and birds, babies and sages, with an open heart.. I will bear all things cheerfully, do all things bravely, await occasions and curry never. In a word, I will let the spiritual, unbidden and unconscious grow up through the common.’

    William Ellery Channing

    You, Lord Norton, are an exceptional man. I have so enjoyed your guidance and patience.

    Happy New Year!

    • Lord Norton says:

      maude elwes: Happy New Year and many thanks. Much appreciated. I thought the quotation was superb. I must keep it to hand.

    • Frank W. Summers III says:

      Maude Elwes,
      That is a rather fine quotation. If we were Facebook friends i would simply “like” but instead wish you this Happy New Year!

      • maude elwes says:

        I don’t do Facebook. Only the lonely is my thought when I hear about the poor souls who go that far for a hobby.

      • Frank W. Summers III says:

        Perhaps there is some truth in that. However, 600 million people must be lonely in a variety of ways. I probably have interacted with more human beings in total than all but a tiny percentage of humans, have exchanged more mail than all but a tiny percentage of humans, have addressed more audience members and paying readers than all but a tiny percentage of humans and keep in touch with more relatives than all but a tiny percentage of people in the industrialized word. Yet, your remark does remind one of all the reasons for not bonding too much with any of a great number of people.

        For your information, I am in fact predisposed to a sort of lonley view of life’s course. I do little to conceal that…

      • Lord Norton says:

        For what it is worth, I gather Facebook tends to be used more by the young and Twitter by the middle-aged.

  3. Frank W. Summers III says:

    Lord Norton,

    Happy New Year! Best wishes to you. I followed cultural practice here at Big Woods aside from watching our teams and worrying about a cousin struggling for life there was more yet of Christmasing and that was not all. We ate the traditional Acadian New Year’s dishes of ham, cabbage and blackeyed peas for lunch and popped fireworks on New Year’s Eve. So I am your frivolous acquaintance I suppose.
    At least you do not leave the season unmarked. I suppose the papers are somewhat unremarkable though perhaps one changes one’s mind on a few and remarks them after a course of time. Mark my words if you will and take the moment to enjoy the changing of calendars to mark. You have done a great deal and have all reason to believe you will do more.

    • Lord Norton says:

      Frank W. Summers III: Many thanks. Happy New Year – and many thanks for your card, which was much appreciated. I fear there are a few late scripts awaiting marking! There isn’t an intrinsic problem with marking – it’s part of the job. I am conscious, though, that there is an opportunity cost. I’m pleased to report I’m enjoying the New Year so far – I have had the opportunity to start work on some research, including work on two articles, to be published in French publications, arising out of my talk in Paris last month.

      I trust you enjoyed your traditional New Year’s dishes. I do like ham.

      • Frank W. Summers III says:

        Lord Norton,

        I did enjoy them and just finished the ham. Best wishes with the articles.

  4. Alice Stretch says:

    Happy New Year! I look forward to your blogging over this year and I hope you have an enjoyable start to 2012, perhaps made even better without the distraction of marking!

  5. ladytizzy says:

    A very happy, prosperous, and productive New Year to all. Let’s face it, it has to be better than 2011!

    • Lord Norton says:

      ladytizzy: I hope it is a more prosperous year for everyone. From a personal point of view, though, I cannot complain about 2011. It embodied so many activities – the Stevenson lecture, meeting President Obama, the 1911 Centenary Lecture on Enoch Powell, the History of Parliament Lecture on the Parliament Act 1911, and conferences in Bern and Paris – that made it a memorable year, one that I am unlikely to be able to repeat. The icing on the cake was the university deciding to scrap the retirement age. Not only do I have the good fortune to have a job, I also have a job I love and one that does not now have a ‘sell by’ date..

  6. macarthursmutterings says:

    And a Happy New Year to you too. My very well read friend 😉

Leave a Reply

