Are you still at Hull?

At lunch in the Bishop’s Bar last week, one colleague in the Lords asked how long I have been at Hull.   It is not something I had thought about recently (or indeed for some time), so it was in answer to his query that I realised that this autumn will mark the 35th anniversary of my appointment to the Politics Department at Hull. 

I did mention that throughout the time I have been at Hull, I have had people ask me ‘Are you still at Hull?’ sometimes with a slightly surprised tone.  My response is ‘why shouldn’t I be?’  I presume they ask because they assume I should have moved or on retired.  Neither makes much sense to me.  Once I find something I really like, I tend to stick with it.  I have never seen the point of moving for the sake of it.  Hull very kindly kept promoting me and very few other universities could offer more than it does in terms of an attractive working environment.  I like new challenges, but these tend to be in addition to what I am doing and not in place of it.  And, as for retirement, do I look the retiring sort?

I might just mention that my appointment at Hull 35 years ago almost didn’t happen. I think I may make that the topic of my next post….

About Lord Norton

Professor of Government at Hull University, and Member of the House of Lords
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Are you still at Hull?

  1. ken hope says:

    People seem to think that everyone. Should move to better pasture. But some time’s there are not what you think there so keep graceing where you are, you and you’re. Staff are doing everying the right way. Just keep doing what you know what is working well.

  2. maude elwes says:

    Perseverance and stability are much to be admired. And it appears we have less of it as a society now than we used to. I wonder why that is? I suppose the political thrust is to be constantly on the move. As in move to wherever the work is and fast.

    You are very fortunate to have been seen as indispensable by those around you in Hull. And they as fortunate in your staying power.

  3. derfelowen says:

    And here’s to the next 35 years . . .

  4. Congratulations on the 35th anniversary. If it ‘ain’t broke, don’t fix it. One might say the same thing about Lords reform.

  5. Frank W. Summers III says:

    Lord Norton,
    I am sure you bring a great deal to your profession from many influences. However, connection to the place and people probably contributes more than most realize.

  6. Lord Norton says:

    Many thanks for the very kind comments. I am looking forward to the next 35 years as well.

    maude elwes: You are far too kind. I am not sure I am where I am as a result of being indispensable. No one is that – if they are, they may not be doing their job properly, since one should be in a position to ensure there is a successor. Of course, the successor may not be quite as good….

    • maude elwes says:

      It’s perception Lord Norton! Truth, is only of the mind. Like beauty, and the eye of the beholder.

      So, no, I was not being kind. Simply observant.

  7. macarthursmutterings says:

    No, you most certainly do not look like the retiring sort

Leave a Reply

