100,000 views…

Reaching a wider audience

I am pleased to report that the number of views of the site, since its inception following the last general election, has passed 100,000.   From observation of the daily statistics, the readers appear to be a combination of regulars and those who reach the site in their quest to find answers to particular questions – not least how the Conservative Party chooses it leader, what happens if the PM dies, and whether one should say referenda or referendums. 

Some of my colleagues tend to be sceptical of the value of blogs.  My view is that they are highly efficient ways of reaching audiences.  I may accept an invitation to speak to a group of, say, 20 people at a specified time and venue.   Contrast the resources one has to invest to complete that engagement with the ability to pen a message at a time convenient to me and for an audience of 100 to 200 people to read it at a time convenient to them.  My posts also tend to be a little shorter than my talks!

About Lord Norton

Professor of Government at Hull University, and Member of the House of Lords
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to 100,000 views…

  1. Croft says:

    “Some of my colleagues tend to be sceptical of the value of blogs.”

    Some of your colleagues tend to be sceptical of the value of the voters!

  2. maude elwes says:

    i agree with Croft… But then again you have to take into account the desire they have to keep everything ‘secret’ and only of their domain and this method of communication can be seen as a threat to that premise and to them.

    Out of touch with a changing world. And they will be the losers.

  3. Frank W. Summers III says:

    Lord Norton,
    It is indeed a significant milestone. The future trajectory of these things is difficult to project. Yet I venture to suggest that the blogosphere is a worthwhile place to invest one’s time vis-a-vis the future. In large part this is true because of the currently existing advantages you outlime in your post.

  4. How Ridiculous says:

    Dear Lord Norton,

    Are you contemplating a House of Lords reception to mark this milsetone?!

    How Ridiculous.

  5. maude elwes says:

    @LN:

    That is what is known as ‘hair splitting.’

    And Sir Humphrey was a master at that.

    • Lord Norton says:

      maude elwes: It is anything but. There is a fundamental difference between Government and Parliament, at the heart of any democratic system.

      • maude elwes says:

        Dear Lord Norton,

        Here in England it is different, so I believe. However, I am now confused, because of your earlier reply.

        My understanding is, that England is the only country in the UK ‘not’ to have its own separate parliament.

        As a result, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland have more control over their country than we do.

        Is this no longer the situation?

    • Lord Norton says:

      maude elwes: I’m not quite sure how this is related to the distinction to be drawn between the legislature and the executive..

  6. maude elwes says:

    I regret we seem have some kind of misunderstanding. To start again may add further to the confusion, as I am sure it is me who is not putting my point across accurately.

    Your time and patience toward me in this matter is more than expected. So, I will again read up on the connection in England of government and parliament. And thank you for the time you have taken with me and ask you forgive my ignorance.

Leave a Reply

