Was it something I said?

Not looking a day over 40...

For the second year running, The Times forgot my birthday.  Perhaps they thought they were doing me a kindness.

I decided this year that I would get myself a present.  So I treated myself to a season ticket for parking at Hull station.  Yes, still living life on  the edge.

About Lord Norton

Professor of Government at Hull University, and Member of the House of Lords
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Was it something I said?

  1. Frank W. Summers III says:

    Happy belated birthday Lord Norton. I see however from your gift that in the case of Lord Sait-John it may take one bon vivant to know another…

    • Lord Norton says:

      Frank W. Summers III: Many thanks. Though Norman St.John-Stevas and I shared much in common in terms of our political beliefs, we were somewhat different in other respects: he was a Catholic who had a clear taste for the finer things in life, whereas I am a Methodist – with attendant puritan traits (epecially when it comes to drink) – who sees material things as rather secondary to getting on with achieving one’s goals. I suspect Norman St.John-Stevas never set foot in a Little Chef!

  2. Frank Wynerth Summers III says:

    Lord Norton,

    If I work at .it perhaps I can stay near ratio of one comment to every two posts. In the time since you founded this blog, I have attended a sizable number of town hall meetings (nothing to do with municipal government for some readers benefit except the mayor usually attends), hundreds of family functions and church services and a sizable number of charitable fundraisers. I have posted many videos and had to make them and I have answered the phone more times than I care to count. However, I am not sure I have had as many actual exchanges of words or attempted exchanges of words with anyone ooutside my own home in person than with Your Lordship. While that may be more regrettable for you it is no less surprising for me I assure you.

    Excuse me now as I must return to my life of Romish Christian splendor and richness and leave you to your work…

  3. maude elwes says:

    Hoc vinum Falernum annorum quadragenta est. Bene dictatum fert.
    Cicero

    March 5th was a happy day? And how can others’ remember a birthday when a person never gets a day older?

    Best wishes!

  4. Ken Hope says:

    i feel that has we get older, we seem to have the urge to be younger. Time is something we play with. and enjoy .
    my i wish , every day you become more wiser and with this wisdom more time you will find to enjoy life .
    best and kind regard’s
    ken&helen

  5. Liam says:

    Happy birthday, Lord Norton! Sorry it’s belated.

    I’m also impressed by the subtle way you mentioned it on the blog. 😉

  6. Edward Brunsdon says:

    seems they forgot Eva Mendes as well … so you are in good company! Very belated happy birthday.

Leave a Reply

