On the move…

Wroxton College

It’s been one of those weeks.  I’ve hardly had a spare moment, hence the dearth of posts in recent days.  Yesterday was particularly fraught.  I was scheduled to lecture at Wroxton College, in Oxfordshire, in the morning, and would normally have travelled there on Tuesday evening.  In the event, the Joint Committee on the Draft House of Lords Reform Bill decided to hold an additional meeting on Wednesday morning.  This resulted in a last-minute re-arrangement of my day, the College being able to re-schedule my lecture -but for that afternoon.

It meant I was in the Joint Committee in the morning – we had a two-and-a-half hour session – and then had to dash to Marylebone to get the train to Banbury.  I got to Wroxton in time for the lecture at 2.00 p.m. – the session is normally a two-hour one, but we had to finish fifteen minutes early so that I could get the train back to London.  I got back to the Lords at 5.30, just as a division was called.  I then chaired the weekly seminar with my students at Westminster – Hull politics graduate, Adam Vandermark, now producer of the ITV ‘This Morning’ programme, spoke on the challenges of engaging a daytime television audience with political issues.  We finished just as two more divisions were called.  As soon as those were out of the way, I had to head to King’s Cross to travel back to Hull.  

Still, the advantage of spending a good deal of time on trains was that I was able to get on with reading chapters of a PhD thesis.  The downside was not being able to deal with a mass of e-mails, not to mention writing commitments – of which more anon…

About Lord Norton

Professor of Government at Hull University, and Member of the House of Lords
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to On the move…

  1. ladytizzy says:

    You probably missed Mark Harper’s short contribution on Wednesday’s Daily Politics regarding reform of HoL:
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episode/b01dn7pk/Daily_Politics_14_03_2012/
    (starts a smidgeon before 1hr 14m)
    I can’t make up my mind on whether his appointment was due to a stroke of madness or genius.

Leave a Reply

