Choosing the best…

One reader, who submitted an entry for the caption competition for me holding the Giant Hat of Cleverness, keeps inquiring if I have yet chosen a winner.  I am happy to be guided by readers as to which they think is the best caption.  Let me know which you think is the best and, if there is a clear consensus, I will award a prize.

About Lord Norton

Professor of Government at Hull University, and Member of the House of Lords
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Choosing the best…

  1. franksummers3ba says:

    Lord Norton,

    Perhaps the one who has repeatedly inquired should vote first. As things happen it was not I…

  2. Neil M says:

    Nor was it I – but putting the question to the equivalent of a referendum seems like a bit of a cop out.
    And this from the same man who argued against them; telling the Hansard Society that they produced outcomes that were “essentially misleading, unbalanced, and dangerous”.

    • Lord Norton says:

      Neil M: Er, no, it’s the equivalent of an election, not a referendum.

      If I decided, I would accept Jonathan’s nomination of my comments and award myself the prize..

      • Neil M says:

        This only goes to prove that I really must stop relying on wiki answers for my information on this sort of thing. It persists in telling me that:
        1. In elections you vote for a candidate or party, wheras in referenda you vote on a issue.
        2. Elections are multi issue (eg party manifesto’s) and referenda are single issue.
        3. Elections are mandatory, referenda can be advisory or mandatory.
        4. Elections are about electing people to hold positions of power, referenda are about influencing those already in power.
        What is the world coming to if you can’t depend on everything you read on the internet????

      • Lord Norton says:

        Neil M: In a constituency, you elect a single candidate who has a particular manifesto. Here, you select a reader who has the best caption. Simples.

      • Lord Norton says:

        I should have added that referendums normally take place on a simple ‘yes/no’ basis and not on a range of options.

  3. franksummers3ba says:

    Lord Norton,

    I must seek to launch an American invasion here. Could we not first have constitutional convention? We could contact all those who have commented and raise funds to poll a good number of readers. Then we could have a teleconference and draw up the roles for the elections. then once you and a select committee have ceritfied the results we could have the most prolific commenters (including me of course) ratify the charter. When three of the top four commenters have done so you could publish the charter and we could proceed to vote. Because this is only a blog this could be done in amanner somewahat cheaper and quicker than founding a sovereign federal union of States… By 2013 we could have the prize awarded I feel sure.

  4. Chris K says:

    I liked “Peer celebrates his win in giant Monopoly competition” by Neil M.

    But then I am easily pleased.

  5. maudie33 says:

    Beware of mad hatters with nothing on the mind except head size!

Leave a Reply

