I am not Sir Peter….

Sir Peter Tapsell

It has been a hectic day, as hectic as yesterday.  This evening I attended the latest lecture in the series of Speaker’s lectures on Parliament and Government, this one given by Sir Malcolm Rifkind.  It was, as one would expect, an interesting and well structured reflection on his time in office.  When he had concluded, the Speaker, John Bercow invited questions.  He called someone at the back of the room, which was quite dark, and confused the questioner – an MP – with a clerk in the Commons.  (I know both of them and they look alike – at  a stretch.)   I was also sitting at the back and put my hand up.   John Bercow then said ‘Before I call on Sir Peter, could I just ask…’.  I looked round: I couldn’t see anyone, let alone a Sir Peter, wanting to ask a question.  John Bercow then looked at me and said ‘Sir Peter Tapsell’.  I rose, at which point the Speaker realised that it was very dark or that he needed glasses or both!   I was at primary school when Sir Peter Tapsell was first elected to Parliament….

About Lord Norton

Professor of Government at Hull University, and Member of the House of Lords
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I am not Sir Peter….

  1. Dean B says:

    I have to say that Kenneth Clarke’s lecture in this series was one of the most entertaining I have ever heard.

  2. Neil M says:

    Perhaps the Speaker stumbled as a result of the Louth connection, rather than it being a reflection on how kind (or otherwise) the years have been?

  3. macarthursmutterings says:

    Oh I don’t know, there is some resemblance there….

Leave a Reply

