I’m over here…

David Blunkett

I attended this evening the latest of the Speaker’s Lectures on Parliament and Government given by David Blunkett in his capacity as a former Home Secretary.  At the last lecture, when I was sat at the back in the dark, the Speaker, John Bercow, confused me with Sir Peter Tapsell.  This evening, he opened by looking into the audience and asking if I was present.  I waved my arms – at which point he realised I was sat on the front row!

The reason he asked if I was present was in order to draw attention to the fact that I had attended every one of the sixteen Speaker’s lectures that had taken place since the inauguration of the series at the beginning of 2011.   He suggested I should be eligible for a medal.  Mention of my name then prompted David Blunkett to open by drawing attention to the fact that we were at university together.  ‘While I was busy in the Student Union’, he recalled, ‘Philip was busy in the Library, to good effect’.  

Anyway, I already have the next two lectures in the diary.  By the end of the year, I may have the Distinguished Attendance Medal  – and bar.

About Lord Norton

Professor of Government at Hull University, and Member of the House of Lords
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I’m over here…

  1. maudie33 says:

    How this Blunkett character manages to get re-elected time and again is an enigma to me. His constituents should really pull themselves together over this one. He has no obvious signs of principle other than taking care of himself. He is repugnant on every level. His thinking is drastically flawed and he was a cling on to the Blair creature, How he manages to grease his way around deselection is something that should be aired.

  2. ladytizzy says:

    Any gossip on how the Speaker received Lord Leveson’s opening words before yesterday’s afternoon session?

  3. maudie33 says:

    Here is a full lecture given by Prof. Richard Wolff an economist, who tells us how we have come to the crippling situation we fnid ourselves in and how to move us out of it. I found it so interesting I felt compelled to put it up here for all to hear.

Leave a Reply

