Eminent Parliamentarians

Readers may be interested in this forthcoming publication from Biteback Publishing – it is the collection of Speaker’s Centenary Lectures, delivered last year on outstanding parliamentarians of the past century.  I delivered the lecture on Enoch Powell and subsequently took on the task of preparing the lectures for publication. 

You can read more details here.  The book will be appearing in July, in hardback at the eminently reasonable price of £20.  Feel free to place your order so that you can receive a copy as soon as it comes off the presses.

The chapters seek to reflect as faithfully as possible the lectures as delivered.  Each is preceded by a short biographical note.

About Lord Norton

Professor of Government at Hull University, and Member of the House of Lords
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Eminent Parliamentarians

  1. ladytizzy says:

    A potential prize, perhaps? I am sure that your renowned charm could extract a couple of extra copies from the eminent and generous Mr Dale…

    PS The lectures were excellent.

  2. franksummers3ba says:

    Excellent! I hope to get a copy. If not at least I am devoid of an excuse of substance,,,

    • ladytizzy says:

      Sadly, as, at best, a non-dom you will have to shell out. You have heard it’s a bit rough over here?

      • franksummers3ba says:

        I do follow the news. The money is substantive to me as well. But ought not to be in ways that I should not have brought into the comment. I have been more than a bit under the weather lately and it garbles my posts apparently…

      • Lord Norton says:

        franksummers3ba: I think what ladytizzy really means to say is ‘excellent, do buy as many copies as you would like’. It will make an excellent gift for friends…

      • franksummers3ba says:

        Lord Norton,
        I would like two the question however is only whether I will buy one or none…

    • ladytizzy says:

      Frank, I am very sorry to read that you have been poorly. Please accept my best wishes for a speedy recovery – you have been missed.

      Lord Norton, have you been standing next to Lord Mandelson recently? Notably, he has been the only witness at the Leverson inquiry to hold a copy of his recent best seller in such a way that the TV viewer could read the title. Ever the salesman.

      • ladytizzy says:

        That should be Leveson, of course.

      • Lord Norton says:

        ladytizzy: Next, you’ll be suggesting I’m a self-publicist….

      • franksummers3ba says:

        Lady Tizzy,
        Thank you. My grandmother died and among other things we have inventoried antiques from the days when not many very pale people lived on this side of the pond. The dust has been part of my woes, how large a part I do not know but it got a bit ugly for a while,,,
        I am allergic to dust and seem to contract infections when my allergies flare. Thanks again

  3. Nathan P. Bridle says:

    I fully intend to buy this. I was great admirer and knew Michael Foot very slightly, and would have liked to have known some of the others. I saw the first few lectures, including your very fine contribution, but alas missed the later lectures, two of which I particularly regret missing- those on Roy Jenkins and Tony Benn.

Leave a Reply

