Cracking news

Despatch Box in the Atrium

At the end of the afternoon yesterday, I popped over to the Despatch Box in the Atrium in Portcullis House for a cup of tea.  The plan was to get on with essay marking, but as usual various people saw me and we ended up dealing with parliamentary business.   I had not even got to the Despatch Box before an MP saw me and came to discuss matters relating to an all-party group.  As I was having my tea, a minister came over to pursue an issue I had raised with him, and as I was leaving I bumped into an MP and a peer and spent some time exchanging views on parliamentary tactics. 

It was only when I got back to my office that I saw this news item, reporting that earlier in the afternoon a pane of glass in the roof of the Atrium had cracked and the area had had to be secured.  I was completely oblivious to the fact that anything had happened and certainly by the time I arrived everyone was acting as normal.   Either that or I was so engrossed in what I was doing I completely missed what was happening in the vicinity.  It has been known…

About Lord Norton

Professor of Government at Hull University, and Member of the House of Lords
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cracking news

  1. ladytizzy says:

    “Built to last 200 years, Portcullis House has bomb-proof walls and windows…”

    Pity they forgot about the roof.

Leave a Reply

