Caption Competition

Before I regale you further with comments on the House of Lords Reform Bill, I thought I would provide a moment for light relief with a caption competition.  The picture was taken at the recent conference on Conservatives and Conservatism, which I addressed, held in Hull.  The photographer wanted an action shot – I don’t actually point when I am speaking – and this was the result.  You are invited to contribute a caption for the picture.  That which in my opinion is the wittiest and most appropriate will be the winner and will receive a prize.

About Lord Norton

Professor of Government at Hull University, and Member of the House of Lords
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Caption Competition

  1. ‘After forgetting his presentation notes, Lord Norton attempted to entertain the audience with his rather limited shadow puppet repertoire.’

  2. sheldon Howcroft says:

    And for my next trick I will get the Conservative Party and the Liberal Democrats to form the next Government.

  3. franksummers3ba says:

    “I was deeply honored when the Rules Committee designated my index finger in this position as the official dimension of the House of Lords — a norton. No Peer may produce more than one norton of thickness in internal House paperwork in any given week, Peers must remain two nortons apart when in the lobbies for voting. Further, during the Gracious Speech the sovereign’s train has been limited to fifteen nortons below the dais of the thrones. There was a great deal of argument about whether these were thrones or mere cathedra regiorum — but that did not detract from the splendor of the occasion.”

  4. maudie33 says:

    ‘I’m trying to put a case for Conservatism here and you, Maude, are the one confused, so sling your hook.’.

  5. franksummers3ba says:

    “Conservative Peer and Hull professor Philip Norton took third place in the Film Noir Finger Pistol Competition sponsored by BAFTA. He did a remarkable impression of Humphrey Bogart in the preliminaries and a rather less convincing one of James Cagney in the later rounds.”

  6. D F Rostron says:

    As a point of order, at this point may I point out, quite pointedly, that I do not usually point, in my point of view and I say this as a point of honour, having reached a point of no return, it’s pointless.

  7. ladytizzy says:

    Due to a mix-up, Lord Norton stands in for Lord Archer of WSM at a fund-raising auction for the Conservatives:-

    “Sold! My latest offering, Destiny: How I Saved the House of Lords, to the lady at the back.

  8. franksummers3ba says:

    “As part of my presentation on Gay Marriage I have a dart board in the back with the image of the Archbishop of Canterbury on it. It will help you to understand my point if you will take time during the break to throw a few darts at the mitered propagandist himself.”

  9. Lord Norton says:

    AND THE WINNER IS……

    Some very impressive entries. Thanks to all those who contributed. My two favourites are those by Ilona Wheldale England and maudie33. After much reflection, the winning entry is that by Ilona Wheldale England, with maudie33 as the runner-up. If Ilona Wheldale England would like to e-mail me on my Hull e-mail, I will arrange for a suitable prize to be despatched.

    franksummers3ba may have been in the running with his latest entry, but I think he got the wrong Archbishop…

    • franksummers3ba says:

      Lord Norton,
      Doctor Rowlandson being more liberal does not deserve to be darted as much as some other bishops even if he is head of the episcopal structure itself — good to know. There weill be no Lambeth led to the slaughter in all of this…

  10. maudie33 says:

    Delighted to know it amused you, LN. Thank you.

    Well done, I. Wheldale England.

    • franksummers3ba says:

      I suppose that this is one of the cases where I will be presumptuous to take the declaration as a third place finish and thus congratulate Maudie Elwesa and Ilona Whedale England or not consider it such remain incomunicado and seem ungracious. I will simply say I thought both of these contributors quite funny and do congratulate them on their recognition….

    • Lord Norton says:

      maudie33: It was a close run thing. I thought both were excellent.

Leave a Reply

