A new talent…

The Upper Waiting Hall in the Palace of Westminster is this week exhibiting pictures selected for display by the All-Party Photography Group.  I can report that one of them is mine.  I was encouraged to enter the competition, I suspect not so much because of my renowned photographic skills (my main skill tends to be forgetting to take my camera with me when I travel), but rather because they wanted as many entries as possible.  I submitted a few pictures and my picture of Lambeth Bridge at night was selected.   I suppose it is one case of deriving some advantage from normally leaving the Palace late at night!

I am not sure, though, that if the Government were successful in replacing the House of Lords with an elected House, that it would suggest an alternative career route….

About Lord Norton

Professor of Government at Hull University, and Member of the House of Lords
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A new talent…

  1. franksummers3ba says:

    Lord Norton,
    Very nice. We have yet another small thing in common to weight against all the large differences we are both “published” in the broad sense photographers who do something else with most of their time…

    • franksummers3ba says:

      Lord Norton,
      I do hope if you all change the name of the House of Lords to the House of Chummy Smarties or the House the Popular Wizards, or whatever else may be, that you will change the name of the Upper Waiting room here mentioned to the ________ Storey Waiting Room, Thus rooting out all those bad inferences and attachments at the one go…

    • Lord Norton says:

      franksummers3ba: What a good point. I am a published photographer. Oh yes.

      I think the two minutes it took to take the photograph constitutes the rest of my time outside of work!

      • franksummers3ba says:

        Lord Norton,
        The line never really gets without fuzz for the scrupulous. I have often (in the past) been paid for pieces I wrote in which photo-essays were included. However, since the photos were not paid out in an itemized check I do not usually call myself a photographer…

  2. maudie33 says:

    Now, Lord Norton, you know you won’t be needing a second job. Didn’t you write a short while ago you will continue in one of your many positions ad infinitum?

  3. macarthursmutterings says:

    I love this picture, and it reminds me of the walk home I used to have to a very nice home not far from here…..

Leave a Reply

