Scenic views

As regular readers will know, I tend to live life on the edge.  A few weekends ago, I actually took a Saturday off and went with a friend to visit Bushy Park, by Hampton Court Palace. 

Now that I am an exhibited photographer, I remembered to take my camera with me.   Not only that, I remembered to take some pictures.  This is a rather remarkable combination for me (time off + camera + remembering to use said camera).  Anyway, the result is that, after much reflection on what would be artistically preferable (and then discarding that in favour of pointing the camera and pressing the button), I got some photographs that I thought I would, as the Americans would say, share with you (i.e. post whether you like it or not).  The top picture shows the deer in the park and the bottom gives some sense of the distance we walked – this just conveys a small part of the ground covered.

If I remember to take my camera with me on other excursions – admittedly more likely to be conferences overseas – I may have multiple entries for next year’s parliamentary photographic competition…

About Lord Norton

Professor of Government at Hull University, and Member of the House of Lords
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Scenic views

  1. Unfortunate Pear says:

    Bushy Park is an excellent name for a park.

  2. franksummers3ba says:

    Lord Norton,
    The pictures are very nice. I see you will be traveling to Rome and can perhaps add a few frames there as well.

    • Lord Norton says:

      franksummers3ba: Indeed, given my propensity to leave my camera in its case, I shall make a special effort.

      • franksummers3ba says:

        Lord Norton,
        I hope you do. I mention my former brother in law Jason Spiehler who is the father of three of my nieces and nephews. With a degree from one of my alma maters and a Master of Divinity from Yale he is quite civilized for an American. His business http://www.walksofitaly.com/blog/ described at this link is well regarded and I believe he would treat you even better than normal for being an associate of mine ( of course I also believe you meant to invite us all to tea).
        If you get rained in or something please consider giving him a call…

  3. maudie33 says:

    Great pics. The top one is the better, It has content. From my point of view, naturally.

    Keep at it. In Rome you should try a video camera.

  4. Neil M says:

    The top one is certainly streets ahead of your other recent contenders – your office window frame and coffee table. If it doesn’t earn you at least a Highly Commended, then there is no justice.

  5. Lord Norton says:

    Maudie33 and Neil M: Given your preference for the top picture, I should mention that I included the bottom picture for the sense of depth and structure and also because I thought it was a metaphor for seeking one’s goal in life, reflecting the fact that though one’s eventual goal may be clear and apparently not facing obvious obstacles it nonetheless may constitute a long haul to get there. Whereas the top picture is one of deer.

  6. maudie33 says:

    @Lord Norton:

    Good analysis…. Another interpretation could be, the bottom picture gives off a sense of death. Emptiness. Endless loneliness. Whereas the top one, encourages wonder at life with all its surrounding comforts.

Leave a Reply

