Stand by for Tweeting…

I’ll tweet if I want to…

Well, I have eventually got round to getting a Twitter account.  I shall start tweeting shortly.  Apparently, I already have over 100 followers and that is without me writing a word.  All I need to do now is think of some appropriate opening words.  Whether or not that increases or decreases the number of followers remains to be seen.  I know that ‘marking’ or ‘writing’ and ‘still writing’ fall well within the character limit, but I’m not sure they will be that riveting. 

I’m presently in writing mode, incidentally.  Though I do also have marking to do…
About Lord Norton

Professor of Government at Hull University, and Member of the House of Lords
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Stand by for Tweeting…

  1. Jonathan says:

    You didn’t say what your username is. I guess you are @LordNortonLouth. It must be annoying that someone called Hannah took the username you wanted, almost as bad as someone called Adderley choosing the title Lord Norton!

    You may well be the first person I “follow” officially, as up until now I’ve only followed people on Twitter more covertly. I await the flood of tweets!

    • Lord Norton says:

      Jonathan: Yes, it is @LordNortonLouth. I am just getting the hang of it. I need to decide what I can usefully tweet, especially when most of my time is taken up with writing and marking. Perhaps August isn’t the best month to open a Twitter account!

  2. We are now all wondering who you will follow back!

  3. macarthursmutterings says:

    tweet away i say

  4. ladytizzy says:

    Sigh…Invasion of the Body Snatchers was not a dream, after all.

  5. maudie33 says:

    You have chutzpah taking this kind of step. And more than a little daredevil about you.

    I do not do Twitter or any of the other open speak fallacies we are egged to play with. Although, I have thought about, but rejected, the ‘Second Life’ virtual world website. The lure was in the idea I could play at being a welathy, tax fund dodger with my onwn island, Barclay brother style, as well as a purchased ‘Lord or Lady’ of the manor. You see, i found there was no equivalent to a Viscount for the female and Countess struck me as a name used for high class hookers. Which put me off altogether.

    Good luck. You will need it.

    • Jonathan says:

      @maudie33: Viscountess?

      • maudie33 says:

        How kind of you to put me in the picture, Jonathan. Thank you.

        Yes, I have to say I really have a fancy for Viscountess. Has a certain ring to it.

        Do you know if this ssuggests you are referred to as ‘Your Grace.’ You see, that is another form of recognition I feel I could live with?

    • Lord Norton says:

      maudie33: “i found there was no equivalent to a Viscount for the female and Countess struck me as a name used for high class hookers.”

      I am tempted to say that it is a disgrace that you would add such a horrible sexist form of name calling to your thread in this blog. Not sure where I get that thought from…

Leave a Reply

