Politicians as comedians?

And for my next joke..

I have had a somewhat unusual request.  Sky One are looking for “some members of parliament who are good at telling jokes and who might be interested in appearing on John Bishop’s new TV show”.  The proposal is to intersperse comedians telling jokes with politicians telling some of their favourite jokes.  I am not quite sure whether it is for me or not.   My humour is not exactly of the ‘here’s a good joke’ category.  And often what to me is funny is what others may consider a little odd…   When I say something funny, people tend to laugh in the wrong places.

About Lord Norton

Professor of Government at Hull University, and Member of the House of Lords
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Politicians as comedians?

  1. Anonymous says:

    I would pay good money to see this!

  2. macarthursmutterings says:

    Well you always make me laugh, and it’s not always at you that I am laughing 😉

  3. Neil M says:

    Had you heard of John Bishop before getting this request? Perhaps you were already following each other in the world of celebrity tweeting.
    However, apart from the concept, the comedian and the channel – I can see absolutely no pitfalls whatsoever. Go for it!
    And happy to participate when you get offered your own spin-off show.

  4. ladytizzy says:

    John Bishop’s joke came 6th as voted for at the Edinburgh Fringe, 2010; perhaps you don’t have to try that hard. Do check if Sarah Tether has been invited to the same gig – you’ll storm it.

  5. maudie33 says:

    I didn’t realise this issue was in dispute. Politicians, of all colours, are indeed comedians.

    • Lord Norton says:

      maudie33: Some politicians have a good sense of humour, but then they need it to put up with a public that is not exactly well versed in what they do or inclined to want to find out.

  6. macarthursmutterings says:

    I just remembered your “well hung indeed’ comment http://macarthursmutterings.wordpress.com/2010/05/10/well-hung-indeed/ from the last election, made me laugh all over again, so see you can be funny 😉

  7. Tory boy says:

    Baroness Trumpington would be a v good candidate!

Leave a Reply

