Keeping fit

If I can get somewhere by train rather than by plane, I’ll take the train.  If I can get somewhere on foot rather than by car or public transport, I will walk.  Last Friday, evening I was in Sheffield for the class of ’72 reunion dinner – see my previous post.  It was at the Vice-Chancellor’s house.  I arrived at Sheffield station in good time and, as I estimated that I should be able to get there on foot, I set off to walk.  This enabled me to walk through the campus and see how it had changed since my student days. 

I made it to campus in good time – as a student I used to walk each week from the campus to the station – but my estimation of how long it would then take me to get to the VC’s house was a little awry.   I knew it would be (very) uphill but the distance was further than expected.  Let’s just say I arrived within an hour of setting off – but only just.  The good news is that I was in time for dinner (minutes to spare, well about three or four) and was feeling fit.  I rather impressed myself in that I wasn’t even breathless – and it was a very steep hill. 

Anyway, a good time was had by all – I may share with you some anecdotes – and I got back to the station by taxi, but that was necessary because of train times.  I could have walked.  Oh yes.

About Lord Norton

Professor of Government at Hull University, and Member of the House of Lords
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Keeping fit

  1. franksummers3ba says:

    Lord Norton,

    A very sound policy in general…. I think there are cetain tens of thousands of Americans for whom their affection for the works of CS Lewis and JRR Tolkein is fed in no small part by the fact that they were both different types of accomplish British walkers. In addition, their works were fed by influences only found on walks. Trains we have previously discussed — they are splendid in so many ways… not the least is that one can walk in a moving train.

    • Lord Norton says:

      franksummers3ba: Indeed, I have some of my best thoughts while out walking.

      One can not only walk in a moving train, but also eat and drink – and get on with paperwork – which one cannot do when driving.

  2. ladytizzy says:

    Of course, ladies do the opposite and walk the return journey: a glowing visage remains undesirable to this day, ensuring we all get a good night’s sleep.

  3. maudie33 says:

    Not this lady, she likes to be driven both ways. First, because my hair is usually nicely combed on leaving and I don’t want it messed up by gusts of wind. And on the return, I wouldn’t want the gallant man who took me to be alone without the company he was kind enough to assist in the first place,

Leave a Reply

