The work goes on

I am variously in Westminster to fulfil different engagements.  Last week, I was giving evidence to the Political and Constitutional Reform Committee in the Commons – see my earlier post – and today I am speaking to pupils from a Lincolnshire school who are visiting Parliament.  Although neither House is sitting, there is still  a fair degree of activity.   I had lunch in the River restaurant and it could have been a normal sitting day.  I was struck by the number of peers, not least ministers, who were around.   It says someting about the quality of the Lords that among the peers in is a Nobel Prize winner and a Paralympian.

The picture is one I took this morning as I walked in.  I have taken a number over the years of Victoria Tower, but this morning I thought I would include Rodin’s statute of the Burghers of Calais.   Victoria Tower Gardens are especially attractive, though historically of relatively recent origin.  When the Palace was built in the 1850s, the area to the south – what are now the Gardens – was occupied by houses.

About Lord Norton

Professor of Government at Hull University, and Member of the House of Lords
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

