Award winning

A couple of weeks ago  I submitted the winning entry for a Caption Competition in The House Magazine.   The picture showed Michael Fallon, recently appointed to the Department of Business, Innovation and Skills in order – according to some commentators – to keep an eye on Vince Cable.  The photograph showed him stood behind a large iron gate and reaching through to the lock.  My winning caption was: ‘Okay, Vince, what have you done with the keys?’ 

I know my success will be greatly welcomed by my colleagues.   Naturally, they are happy to bask in my success, though I suppose it is possible it also has something to do with the fact that the prize is a bottle of champagne.  I don’t drink.   A a result of being given bottles of wine for giving talks and winning awards like this, the number of bottles of wine and champagne I have in my cupboard is in double figures. 

I am always pleasantly surprised by how many of my colleagues like to come along to the various anniversary celebrations I organise.

About Lord Norton

Professor of Government at Hull University, and Member of the House of Lords
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Award winning

  1. D F Rostron says:

    Yes I like that, I would have been pleased if I had come up with that. Well done.

Leave a Reply

