Hot off the presses

Publication date for Eminent Parliamentarians – the volume of the Speaker’s Centenary Lectures – is Monday, 15 October.  I have already received advance copies.  It has been produced in a quite handsome format by the publishers, Biteback Publishing, who have also done an excellent job in terms of the speed by which it has gone from proof stage to finished product.   It is published in hardback at £22, though I see you can get it at a 15% discount on Amazon. 

The chapters offer reflective overviews by the authors.  Peter Tapsell on F. E. Smith offers some hilarious asides and John Whittingdale recounts some very funny stories about Margaret Thatcher, not least how she came to use Monty Python’s ‘dead parrot’ sketch in one of her conference speeches. 

Highly recommended if you are thinking ahead to Christmas gifts…

About Lord Norton

Professor of Government at Hull University, and Member of the House of Lords
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Hot off the presses

  1. ladytizzy says:

    Have you noticed an upsurge in sales of your works since your shameless self-promotion worthy efforts to inform the general public here, and elsewhere?

  2. Lord Norton says:

    ladytizzy: Your use of ‘since’ may imply that my shameless, sorry, my worthy efforts are of recent origin!

  3. Neil M says:

    I regret to report that in the last 24 hours it has slipped back to 255,930 place. But take heart – it being October there has probably been a glut of fly by night celebrity autobiographies coming out for the Christmas market. I suggest re-titling yours to “The Only Way is Westminster” to capitalise on this.
    I also noticed that Amazon estimate a 2 – 5 week dispatch time – do they print individual copies to order?

  4. I wonder if Santa will be sending me one….

    • Lord Norton says:

      macarthurmutterings: I am sure that if you ask Santa nicely you may find he obliges. Indeed, to test how helpful Santa is, why not get your friends to do the same? I gather Santa’s sleigh may take time to reach Australia, so you may need to get your requests submitted in good time for Christmas.

    • Neil M says:

      Indeed – if they manage to sell any of the 10 at that price, my signed copy of Conservative Dissidents must be worth a small fortune. Thank goodness – given the current state of the economy, I need some store of value to keep me in the retirement to which I aspire.

Leave a Reply

