Mail in the Palace

44101At the beginning of each year, I put down a Question asking how many items of correspondence were received in the Palace of Westminster in the previous year.   I have received the answer for 2012.  A total of 2,544,019 items were received.  Approximately 25 per cent (635,005) of these were destined for the House of Lords.

Though the volume of correspondence is substantial, it represents a decline over previous years.  I have done a post on Lords of the Blog giving the figures from 2005 onwards.  The number of letters coming in is declining as the volume of e-mails increases.  Given the ease with which people can send e-mails, relative to the time and expense needed to generate and mail letters, my impression is that the increase in the number of e-mails is greater than the decrease in the number of letters flowing in to the Palace.  I do not yet have hard data to substantiate that impression. 

I can see a good subject for a research project….

About Lord Norton

Professor of Government at Hull University, and Member of the House of Lords
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Mail in the Palace

  1. Lord Norton,
    1.Questions for research could include how many were addressed to you?
    2. How many were sent by commenters on each of your principal outlets?
    3. Did you receive the two pieces I sent you (which were of course unusually important for research purposes)?.

  2. Lord Norton says:

    Frank W. Summers III: I do count the number of items of mail coming in, but not the number of e-mails. (My e-mail box, I see, has over 13,000 items in it, but that covers a long period of time.) I did indeed receive your two items, one in an envelope (I meant to reciprocate) and the other in a package, both of which were most gratefully received.

    • franksummers3ba says:

      Lord Norton,
      You are too kind. Despite your presence on my twitter list you are far more the host to me than I ever am to you. In addition if we both stay alive I really do intend to have that tea. Thus you have more than reciprocated….

      • maudie33 says:

        You will love it, Frank, it is a really beautiful piece of architecture. Full of a sense of history and spirit of things past. And, the teas are pretty good as well.

      • Maude Elwes,
        I hope you are right. “There are many a slip between the cup and the lip”. However, having lived through varied degrees of proximity in two civil wars and a (mostly nonviolent) revolution as well as numerous natural disasters I have a certain confidence that I and all those around me will survive the experience fairly well.

        As for the architecture and the kitchen, I am fully confident that they will at least be in league with the finest things of like nature which I have ever seen. Beyond that that there is the possibility that they will be the finest things of that scale (it is not a state dinner) that I have ever seen. The House of Lords has a pretty good social reputation.

Leave a Reply

