I know how to celebrate…

55720I celebrated my birthday on Tuesday and did so in style.  Well, in my style.  I spent the morning giving evidence to the Public Administration Select Committee as part of their inquiry into the future of the civil service.  You can see the session here (and my written evidence at the end of the written submissions here).   I  had a lunchtime meeting to discuss the working practices of the House, followed in the afternoon by the weekly meeting of the Secondary Legislation Scrutiny Committee.  Early in the evening, I chaired a meeting of the Parliamentary University Group on the subject of ‘The student experience: are students getting value for money?’   We had four speakers and after the one-and-a-half hour discussion session, I presided over the dinner that follows.  These are working dinners, with a continuation of the discussion.  I can at least claim, though, that I celebrated my birthday with a splendid dinner, surrounded by parliamentarians and Vice-Chancellors.

About Lord Norton

Professor of Government at Hull University, and Member of the House of Lords
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I know how to celebrate…

  1. D F Rostron says:

    No mention of a cake, I hope you did not miss out, was it included in the dinner?

    • Lord Norton says:

      D F Rostron: There was a nice pudding at dinner. As for cakes, we have those in classes, and this Thursday home-made scones were brought in (complete with jam and butter) by one student. Given that we have cakes each week, I’m not sure I would want to add to my cake intake, even for special occasions!

  2. dan says:

    I have personally never listened in to committee sessions, thankyou very much for linking to these through your blog!

Leave a Reply

