Improving the quality of legislation

62137In my previous post, I mentioned my contribution to last week’s Question for Short Debate on improving the quality of legislation.  I made the case for a number of changes that would, in my view, improve the legislative process in the UK.  You can read the speech here.  I argue, as you will see, that part of the problem is how Government views Parliament and the legislative process.  There have been some advances, but there is still a considerable way to go.

About Lord Norton

Professor of Government at Hull University, and Member of the House of Lords
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Improving the quality of legislation

  1. franksummers3ba says:

    Lord Norton,

    Are you quite sure the link on the word “here” is the correct one?

  2. Neil M says:

    I suspect few would disagree with the twin aims of reducing and simplifying legislation. Though your own use of the word “adumbrate” defeated my Collins Pocket Gem!
    Clearly, I will need to invest in a better dictionary to interpret future speeches.

    • maude elwes says:

      The name for it is ‘verbiage’ or ‘verbosity.’ It is a trait designed to ‘entice’ respect for the ‘over’ educated.

    • franksummers3ba says:

      NM,
      You likely have it by now and I am not looking this up and do not use it often but I think my own definition would be something like: “to verbally or conceptually foreshadow or predict something. Especially to predict a complex process or state of events and most of all to do so by delineating or defining a number of relevant elements of said process or state”. However, I missed the word in the speech and am sure however LN used it is equally or more correct….

  3. franksummers3ba says:

    Lord Norton,

    I quoted your speech in a Facebook Not and and blog post. The way this works is that on Facebook groups and individuals numbering in the thousands (barely) who include politicians, publishers, editors and broadcast media as well as family and friends link to my account, Because I am far out of the mainstream few admit to using my stuff to prepare background for their speeches and articles but some do each time. On my blog I link to a very influential twitter list with similar influential but inconsistent readership. I have cited quoted and referred to you before but as we communicate less often these days it may be waning.

    On all the outlets I named I gradually correct small errors and make version changes between my ordinary chores and duties and while preparing new entries. But I keep a master file. Instead of laying down all my publicized links I am including access to my master file here.. You may not agree with much of the essay but still feel the quote is in a reasonably fair context as far as you are concerned:
    .https://docs.google.com/file/d/0Bw-kG1NyFmIRTHpnQlZDaGpVdXc/edit?usp=sharing

Leave a Reply

